Lil Cowpokes

I’ve been working on this foooorrreeeeevvveeerrrrr . . .

About a year and a half ago (maybe 2 years?) I designed a cowboy quilt for our nephew, Connor. I hadn’t planned on making it into a pattern, but when people started seeing it, they started asking . . . Where did you get that pattern? or . . . When are you going to have that pattern ready?

So I took it as a sign that I did indeed need to make it into a pattern, but I couldn’t make it just for little cowboys and leave out all the little cowgirls that might also be out there, so I had to make another one for them.

And then I got to thinking . . . what if someone just wants a plain little quilt and doesn’t want to do the applique? . . . so a third version of the same pattern was born, and on and on and on . . . 

So that’s why I’m just now finishing it after all this time. It was like the never-ending-sample-making-pattern-writing session!

I used Riley Blake‘s “Wanna Be A Cowboy” line by Samantha Walker for the boy and girl versions. They’ve got a “Wanna Be A Cowboy 2″ line out now that has some flannels that these would be great in! Oh, no . . . I’m feeling the urge to make yet another one! Someone save me from myself . . .

I had the pattern all written, and finished, but then had to come up with a cover. Having already given away the boy version of the quilt, I didn’t have very good pictures of it, so I decided to feature the girl version. Also, no pictures yet, and because I’m a horrible photographer, I was procrastinating on that part.

But I finally found a mostly overcast day, and decided to just attempt it by myself at home. Not such a good idea . . . there’s a little too much help around our place. Here’s how it went:

But I finally got a passable shot, so I’ve got the pattern completely ready to go and listed in my store. And you know what that means, don’t you?

YES! A Give-Away!

I’m giving away 2 copies of this, my newest pattern, to two lucky folks who leave a comment on this post. That’s it — just leave a comment and you’re entered. I’ll draw for two winners on Friday, August 26th.

Published in: on August 22, 2011 at 9:42 pm  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/lil-cowpokes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So cute Shelly, in both the boy and girl versions, but also in the non applique style! You are so talented!

  2. Ha,ha, I love your helper!! The pattern looks so cute.

  3. Hmmm.. I WAS wondering when you were going to come out with another pattern…. *VBG*

    I truly would LOVE to try out your pattern. My son’s girlfriend has a cute little girl that ADORES horses!!! And no one in her family quilts!

    Anyhow, enough said.

    Can you please add my name in your virtual hat, for a chance to win this?

    Tks!

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, New Brunswick
    robich@rogers.com

  4. How darling is that?! I thnk your equine assistant has given his nicker of approval. I love that line of fabric and may or may not be hoarding it a bit. Your hard work paid off girl! Super cute! What little boy or girl hasn’t wanted to be a cowboy or cowgirl at some point and time? Some of us are just lucky enough to grow up (or not!) and still get to be one!

  5. So did your helper get to be on the cover of the pattern? I think he deserved to be on the front. I’ll have to show Sarah.

  6. Congratulations! It is worth the wait. I could so make this quilt (FOUR TIMES) for my nephews and niece.

  7. What a cool pattern! Love the boy and girl versions. Love those Riley Blake fabrics too.

  8. Oh, Shelly! They are all such great versions. I really don’t know how you do it all. Well done. I just love the appliques. This would be a great one to have in my stash for babies!

  9. Shelly I think you and your critters belong on TV I get so many good laughs reading your posts, the quilts are great too!

  10. What a cute pattern! My daughter was born in Texas (as was my DH), and she would get a kick out of this!

  11. Ah, I LOVE both the cowboy and cowgirl quilts! And I got the biggest kick out of your photography “helper!” LOL

  12. I hope the horse made the cover along with the quilt! I love the pics and the quilts!

    Bari

  13. I love your pattern – the pictures with your horse are fantastic!!!

  14. I love your helper… and the pattern is cute to. LOL


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

