The 350 Blocks Project

As I’ve confessed before, I have many many UFOs.

I also keep taking on new BOMs, Quilt-Alongs, guild challenges, and anything else that crops up that I think will be fun.

I usually start out all motivated, and as soon as the next project comes along, enthusiasm for the first one wanes while I concentrate on the new one, then the next one comes along, and so on and so on, until I have the situation I have now . . . too many UFOs.

No, I didn’t count them. And I’m not going to, so don’t ask!

But I have made a new goal for this year . . .

I’m calling it The 350 Blocks Project.

With what’s left of this year, I intend . . .

to make one quilt block a day.

I’m going to choose from all my UFOs, and just pick one block to make each day that will get me further towards done. Any block from any UFO, as long as I make one each day.

It might be one block of my Farmer’s Wife Sampler quilt. It could simply be a 9-Patch for my Wild Nine-Patch quilt. It could be a hand-pieced Grandmother’s Flower Garden block. I love variety, so I’ll be choosing from a variety to keep my interest level up throughout this project.

Surely, after making a total of 350 blocks, at least one UFO will get finished, wouldn’t you think?

AND . . .

I’m inviting you to join me.

Are you up for the challenge?

Would you like to make one quilt block a day toward finishing up your UFOs?

If so, just jump on in.

I’ve created a Flickr Group for The 350 Blocks Project, so you can join the group and post photos of your finished blocks. I’m planning to post mine once a week on Sundays, as well as write occasional blog posts about them.

I’d love to know if you’re playing along. Please leave me a comment and let me know.

And if you want the button for your own blog, just steal it from the sidebar there, and link back to this post.

Good luck to us all!

Published in: on January 17, 2012 at 9:23 pm  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/the-350-blocks-project/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great idea – I wonder if I can do that? Sounds fun – I will give it a try!
    Tamara

  2. I am going to start FW sometime this year. I was thinking of a block a week for me. And that’s pushing it. LOL. I might finish a UFO this year. Maybe. Don’t even ask how many I have!

  3. I am not sure I could commit to this, I always have good intentions but then fall short. Going to think on this though, it is a great idea!

  4. Thank you so much for my count down prize which arrived this morning. Both fabrics are new to me and friends have the book but I’ve never read it. It’s lunchtime here so I’m off to put my feet up and have a browse.

    Sue

  5. One a day isn’t so hard, particularly when “one” is sometimes just a four patch. I can do this. Thanks for the idea. I had been playing around with a block-a-day idea but had not thought to apply it to unfinished projects. Brilliant!

  6. I’m in, although not with UFOs… With current projects that I want to complete this year. Not sure I have 350 blocks to do, but I can make some 4-patches to donate.

  7. Oh my gosh, you’re ambitious! I’d love to play along, but I have far too many days where I don’t get home until 10pm – I suppose I could manage 7 blocks a week though. They’d just all get done on Saturday!

  8. I’ve been thinking about this same thing, great minds think alike. So I’m jumping right in and I’m going to do this and blog about it too. And thanks for the button. :-)

  9. I like your idea! :)

  10. My UFOs are mostly waiting for embroidery, quilting and binding. I also have a couple of projects I’m piecing (including those little houses from scraps) and a couple of sets of blocks to put together into tops! AHHH!

    I also have many projects I want to do that are not even started, just a group of fabrics and a pattern and an idea that I’ll get them started when I finish . . . [insert list of nearly finished stuff here].

    But I like your idea of going at it a block at a time. I have been toying with trying to sew 15 minutes a day, cut up scraps and organize them 15 minutes a day, quilt (or practice free motion) 15 minutes a day or do hand work, quilting or embroidery 15 minutes a day. I’ll be using the timer on my phone a lot!

  11. Okay, I’m in. I won’t make one each and every day but will try to make 7 a week or an equivalent average. Must find calendar to keep track.

    Starting today………

  12. What a great idea! I got a quilt frame for Christmas so I could finish up a load full of quilts I started to write them down and got to about 63 before I stopped counting. I’m sure I missed a bunch in the counting, I have 10 shop hop quilts that will all take 40 or so blocks to complete, so maybe I can get a good jump on them…Thanks for spurring me on..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

