The Red Boots

Every year, I get asked by the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Mid-Missouri if I’ll make them a quilt to raffle off at their annual fundraiser.

They always have a theme, so I try to match my design to their theme. This year’s theme is “The Red Shoes”. It’s kind of two-fold on their part, as they’ve referenced Ronald’s big red “clown shoes”, and Dorothy’s magical red shoes from the “Wizard of Oz.”

In conjunction with that, it also carries the theme of “There’s no place like home,” because it’s the goal of the RMHC to get families reunited and sent home, which means a sick loved one is no longer in the hospital!

Here’s what I came up with this year . . . The Red Boots . . .

But I made them into a throw quilt . . .

I designed the appliqued center to fit into the middle of my Lil Cowpokes pattern. I used black and white Half Moon prints by Moda, and black and white solids for the backgrounds of the blocks.

And I used the entire quilt to practice my longarm quilting on!

So here are some close-ups . . .

This was the first time I ever tried pebbling a background . . .

My longarm is not computerized. I did all of this free-motion, and the only part I marked was the straight lines so I could get the placement “gaps” all the same.

I wanted to use a modern kind of design, yet still keep the western theme going on — it’s hard to combine those two things! So I put a star in the center of each block . . .

Here’s the back side . . .

I also took all these photos before I washed it, so it’s a lot flatter and less wrinkled now!

I didn’t want to quilt with the white thread on top of the boots, so I switched to brown on the top and white in the bobbin just to quilt the boots. To my amazement, it actually worked quite well!

The entire quilting process was quite an experiment for me. I learned a lot. Which is what I was wanting to happen . . .

I hope whoever ends up with the quilt loves it and gives it a good home.

Oh, and before I go . . . there’s one more thing.

I’ve made the applique pattern for “The Red Boots” available as a free PDF download, so if you’d like to have the pattern so you can make your own pair of boots, just click HERE.

If you want to make the entire quilt, the “Lil Cowpokes” pattern is available in my shop.

Published in: on February 13, 2012 at 5:40 pm  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/the-red-boots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful! A great quilt for a great cause.

  2. This quilt is amazing and so is your longarm stitching. I like how the pebble stitching turned out, very nice! You do wonderful work Shelly and you can be proud of this one. Oh, and thanks for the applique pattern for “The Red Boots”! :) You are so very kind.

  3. It looks fantastic!!!! I’m so glad you shared this and what a great cause and idea. I wish I could see it post-washing as well. :)

  4. I don’t have anyone in my family who wears cowboy/cowgirl boots (yet), but I really like your design. It amazes me with its realistic details.

  5. Oh goodness Girl! What a fabulous quilt and your quilting is just fabulous! I love that pebbling. I think I would go cross-eyed quilting all those tiny circles, but I love it! You’re so very generous to donate such a beautiful piece to such a worthy cause. I’m certain it’ll be a huge success!

  6. Great boots! And the quilting is perfect for the pattern. Your pebbles look particularly nice.

  7. Shelly, it’s just awesome! I love the applique. Thanks for the free pattern! How clever to make it fit in an already-designed pattern you had. your quilting is just great. I love the pebbling behind the boots. Thanks for sharing your quilting. I really love seeing it! Been thinking I may need to make a trip to Hiawatha one of these days….when I have the money to get a machine. :-)

  8. Shelly, fantastic job!! I love the pebbeling.

  9. I think your interpretation of the theme is perfect–and your quilting shots are great fun to see!

  10. You did a GREAT job – I love it! And thanks for sharing the boot pattern. :)

  11. Your are so creative!!

  12. Beautiful job on the quilt and the quilting is WONDERFUL, Shelly! Great work!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

