Fresh Cuts

I recently had the honor of quilting a most beautiful traditional quilt for a customer.

The pattern came from this American Patchwork & Quilting magazine (October 2010):

This pattern:

It’s called “Fresh Cuts”, designed by Marti Michel.

But this one had the flowers in 1930s reproductions, the vases in that lovely 1930s green solid, and Kona Snow for the background.

She left off the applique border and just did a plain border.

When it was handed over to me for quilting, she said she wanted “lots of feathers.”

That was a bit intimidating. I’ve done a few feathers before, but not what I’d consider “lots”, and none quite this fancy. But I was up for the challenge and figured it would be good practice. I squelched my nerves, drew the patterns I wanted, did a small practice piece, and loaded the quilt on Ivy’s frame.

And here’s what we ended up with:

She wanted the actual bouquets to be mostly quilted like the picture in the magazine (which was beautifully quilted by Elizabeth Anne Dawson), so that part was easy — they gave the diagrams. But she asked for the background to be filled in, so I added small meandering in that area. (After toying with many many ideas that didn’t work, since I was not actually outlining the entire bouquet.)

I also changed the way the vases were quilted from what the picture showed, since she wanted them to be different.

She definitely wanted feather wreaths in the plain alternate blocks, and she asked for a feathered border.

Here’s the back:

And a bigger view of the back:

I didn’t get any pictures of the quilt full out. I just kinda forgot that part . . . and don’t look too hard for all my mistakes. My machine is not computerized, and I’m definitely a human! I used Golden Threads paper for all the feathers, because I was too chicken to use a marker on all that Kona Snow background, even though I tested it, and it would have worked. In the end, just too scared . . .

She had me put the binding on when I was finished, and we used that same green that the vases are made from. Nice frame for the edge.

Thirty-one hours of work, and I’m pretty proud of it. I don’t think I’ll be afraid of feathers any more!

And . . . after having that magazine laying around the entire time I was working on this quilt . . . see that quilt on the cover? Yeah, I’m gonna have to make me one o’ those. Please send help!

Published in: on March 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/fresh-cuts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. that’s absolutely gorgeous!

  2. You did an amazing job! I love it! the quilter did a super job too, love her color choices. Thanks for sharing, I love to see!

  3. I love that quilt, it’s beautiful! That green is my fav. You did an awesome job of quilting it Shelly. Looks wonderful!!!!! Oh, I also like the quilt on the cover of the magazine too.

  4. Beautiful. Well done.

  5. Wow beautiful work!! And that cover quilt will be gorgeous!

  6. Awesome quilting Shelly!! I have that magazine too and am eying that cover quilt.

  7. STUNNING!!!!!!!!

  8. Wowza girl! Your quilting turned that pretty quilt into a stunner! And that cover quilt? I fell in love with it the minute that issue arrived. Unfortunately, it ended up getting shoved to the back burner, but I just pulled it back out today and I’m excited to get back into Granny Square mode.

  9. Gorgeous feathers and quilting! Awesome! You are definitely THERE on feathers!

    Way to go!

  10. Wow, oh wow! I’m so impressed! And I’m so glad you’re not afraid of feathers anymore, because I want meandering feathers in my border!!! :-) Shelly, you are amazing!

  11. That’s a LOT of quilting – nice job!

  12. Shelly, the quilt just arrived back home in California today. I’ve been tracking this box since it left Macon Tuesday. I was so excited to see the box on the front porch when I got home today. I got the box opened, the quilt out and wow, I was speechless, well not really I think I said “Holy S–t” would you look at this!!! It is so beautiful, it is by far the best quilting I’ve ever had done. Your quilting really made my top come to life. You are the greatest. as is your work. I can’t believe you hadn’t done feathers like this before, your a natural. I guarantee you’ve got a life time customer. Thanks so much. I’m entering this quilt in the Silver Dollar Fair this May, I’ll let you know how that turns out. Thanks again.
    Rae Ann

  13. Shelly, you did a beautiful job on this quilting. Love the feathers and all of it!

  14. Your Quilt is so Yammie!!!! Very nice!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

