The Hopper

Something finally came out! That’s what my best friend always says: Keep working, and eventually something will come out of the hopper. And it did! I finished a quilt I’ve been working on for my brother. It’s a photo quilt containing black and white photos of us from when we were little kids.Gary's Quilt

I started this quilt a long time ago. I used the black and white chalkboard print with the alphabet and words on it, because my brother is the one who taught me to read. I wanted to practice doing straight lines with my longarm machine, so I quilted it with a grid around all the squares and pictures. Luckily, I didn’t hear it said until AFTER I was finished, that diagonal lines are the hardest straight lines to do with a longarm!

All my pictures were 3″ square (old ones from the 60s — heehee), so I picked a 9″ block to center them in. I was pretty sure that I picked the pattern out of the book “101 Fabulous Rotary Cut Quilts” by Judy Hopkins and Nancy J. Martin, but I scoured the book 3 times this morning and couldn’t find the pattern I thought I used, so I must have added some seams in somewhere, and now I can’t even tell you what this block is called. Regardless, that book is a good one and I love all the quilts in it. It’s by Martingale & Company/That Patchwork Place, and it’s still in print — you should get a copy if you want some good ideas for whittling your stash.

Published in: on July 10, 2009 at 7:40 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/07/10/the-hopper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

