Nine-Patch Revisited

OK, here’s my next attempt . . . just so you’ll know what I’m talking about, check out my first attempt here: Nine-Patch Pinch.

Last night I made more nine-patches.

Today I don’t dislike them as much.

Nine Patch RevisitedHere they are auditioning with my bold bright colors on top. I think I have the background toned down enough that they will show up OK. I didn’t want to go beige or gray because I wanted all the colors to be bright and playful. I went through and took out most of the patches that were too dark or bright or too patterned. Pared it down to mostly fabrics that read as solids, although there are still a few others scattered around.

You’ll have to ignore the garish patch in the upper right corner. I intend to place it where applique will cover it and it won’t be seen. Same with any others that might appear too bright when I’m finished. So . . . is this a better attempt? or should I start over again? All opinions are welcome . . .

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 3:10 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/nine-patch-revisited/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I liked your first attempt, but I see what you mean about the contrast…I think this will work better! I’m anxious to see the next step!

  2. It is definately more subdued than the first. Without knowing how much applique its hard to make a guess as to if it will work or not. You are going to be the best judge for that! I’ve seen a background done in all shades of green (pale) that looked really great with some bright jacobean-type flowers appliqued to it. I’m sure whatever you decide, it will turn out great!


Leave a Reply

