Friday Favorites

Susan, over at Hanging on by a Needle and Thread, is starting a Friday Favorites post, and her question this week is: What’s your all time favorite movie?

Mine has got to be Lonesome Dove. I can’t even count all the times I’ve watched it. It’s gotten me through the flu (several different times), through a horseback riding accident’s recovery period, through countless quilting deadlines, and I even watch it “just because” — over and over and over.

This year is the 20th anniversary of the mini-series’ debut on television. I don’t have television where I live, but I do have a DVD player, and Lonesome Dove is in it quite often. “Why, the only chance he’s got at a education is listenin’ to me talk!”

I never get tired of it. Gus’s one-liners made me fall in love with Robert Duvall. I even made a point of visiting Miles City when I was in Montana, just so I could say I’ve been in the town where Gus died (and they have a great quilt shop there, too, by the way). I also visited Ogallala, NE, because of him. And I’ve been in San Antonio, TX. Boy, if Gus could see that place now, he’d flip! Makes me want to watch it again tonight!

Published in: on September 4, 2009 at 1:10 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/09/04/friday-favorites/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just got Lonesome Dove on DVD a couple of weeks ago and I’ve already watched it twice! Robert Duvall is one of my all time favorite actors…especially in westerns!

  2. Hi, I followed you from Susan’s blog – just to see your answer and I too fell in love with Robert Duvall. Thank you for reminding me of that memory.
    Have fun – Linda from The Sewing Granny


Leave a Reply

