Aunt Wanda’s Blocks

Remember this quilt? Aunt Mary’s Quilt . . . 

Remember in that post I said Aunt Wanda brought me a set of blocks “clearly made in the 70s”? And I said I’d show them to you later? Well, here is a shot of some of them in all their glory . . . 

Aunt Wanda's Blocks

She said she started making the girl blocks when she found out that her daughter was pregnant with her first child. When Travis was born, Aunt Wanda started making boy blocks. Aunt Wanda says she doesn’t like applique, so even though she finished all the applique, she didn’t actually do anything with the blocks. Travis is now in his mid-twenties, and I have the blocks!

I’m setting them together for Aunt Wanda . . . there are 30 blocks altogether: 15 boys and 15 girls. I trimmed them all to finish at 10″, and from my scraps, I cut sashings and cornerposts, and I’m going to set it together with the scraps, and see what happens. It’ll by no means be a beautiful quilt, but it’ll be a quilt, and maybe Aunt Wanda can go ahead and give it to Travis someday after all! When I get it done, I’ll post a picture of it finished.

Published in: on September 19, 2009 at 8:52 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/aunt-wandas-blocks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How lovely! I used to know them as Sunbonnet Sue and Overall Bill, but I’m sure there are lots of other names too. Good for you for finishing them!

  2. […] bins. I’m getting closer to being ready for JudyL’s challenge. And I wanted to finish Aunt Wanda’s Blocks. Here it is, the completed quilt top. Not sure when I’ll actually get the quilting part done, […]


Leave a Reply

