My Design Wall

This posting is in response to Judy’s post on Creating a Design Wall. In it, she asks those with design walls to describe theirs so that others who may not have design walls or want a different design wall can get ideas for how to make one or make theirs better.

I am truly blessed because I have TWO design walls. One is 4′ x 12′ and covers most of the wall in the north end of my studio. The other is 4′ x 4′ and is above my ironing station and to the right just a bit, where I can slap stuff up right after pressing or audition things while I’m at my cutting table.

This is the best photo I have showing them both. Guess I need to take some new pictures in my studio, huh?

My Design Wall

In this picture, the design wall on the east is still unfinished, which is good, actually, because you can see exactly what I made it out of. I went to the lumber yard and got sheets of foam insulation board. I just asked them if I could see the scrap pieces they had, or the “injured” ones they were selling cheap. They had one that had a crack, and one that had the corner knocked off, and another smaller piece, so that’s what I came home with. It’s the thicker stuff, probably 1″ to 1 1/4″ thick. I use those long pins with the yellow heads to pin stuff up and didn’t want them to go all the way through too easily.

To cover them, I used quilt batting. I bought cheap batting off the roll at Wal-Mart, and I didn’t have to piece it. I just wrapped it around the foam board and fastened it to the back with duct tape. It was like wrapping a present — I just made sure to stretch it tight enough and not get any wrinkles in it. 

Then My Dear Sweet Cowboy (who loves using his cordless drill just to do things for me) fastened it to the wall with long screws. I didn’t even paint the wall behind it, knowing it was going to get covered with these pieces.

This picture was from back in January, and I had a few things on the wall then! On the left is some of the blocks from Stripper’s Delight, a free pattern available on my web page here: Free Patterns. To the right of that is the Welcome Banner pattern I made in celebration of my 10th year in business. And to the right of that is a section of the Mystery Quilt project that is contained in the Prairie Moon Ranch Block of the Month

Most of the time, I don’t have to even pin up any pieces — they just stick to the batting so well. If it’s something heavier, then pins are sometimes necessary. Not having to pin into it makes rearranging things very easy.

If you’re interested in reading more about my rolling island, you can do that here: Organization Attempts

If you’re oohing and aahing over my awesome floor, you can read about how I did that here: My Studio Floor . . .

Published in: on September 21, 2009 at 3:33 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/my-design-wall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m oohing and aahing over your whole awesome sewing space! I would love to have a sewing room like yours! Just look at all the storage…

  2. Great idea on the desgin wall. Love your studio.
    I can’t wait to see what all comes out of your studio. :0)
    kk

  3. Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is Home Improvement site/blog. It pretty much covers Home Improvement related stuff.


Leave a Reply

