Bee Happy

I’m finally able to tell you all about the commission quilt I was working on recently. You’ve seen the background intermittently, as I was suffering through getting it to look just the way I wanted it. Those posts are here, here, and here.

Now, finally, I can show the finished quilt and tell what it was for. 

beehappy

Back in the spring, I was contacted by the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Mid-Missouri, asking me if I would create a quilt with a “bee” theme for them to use as a raffle quilt during their annual fundraising Spelling Bee in September. “Bee Happy” is what I came up with. I first created the nine-patch base upon which I placed all the large bright applique pieces. It was really fun to make, and while I was working on it, the pieces and parts I ended up not using spawned more ideas for some related projects, so before I release the pattern, I’m doing two more quilts, and will be putting out a booklet containing all three bee-themed quilts. They’re so fun! I really enjoyed making the quilts. Keep your eyes out for the booklet, coming soon . . .

Published in: on September 24, 2009 at 9:00 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/09/24/bee-happy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a cute piece you have created and how appropriate it to the theme! Bet the Ronald McDonald House is absolutely delighted with your results.
    Have a great weekend.

  2. So cute! I really love it. It’s so bright and cheery!

  3. Shelly another job well done. It is so cute!!!!
    Kathy

  4. Very cute! Lucky raffle winner who wins it!


Leave a Reply

