Design Wall Monday – Nov. 2

Well, I didn’t get to report in last week because I was sick. And because I was sick, and both my regular sewing machine and my longarm were also both sick, I really haven’t gotten a whole lot done.

My Procrastination Challenge project is, of course, still up there: Stashballs. It’s growing, isn’t it?

My little design wall is empty at the moment, but maybe I’ll get something up on it this week, now that I have my sewing machine back, and I’m feeling better.

flannelquiltMy Cowboy’s flannel quilt that was on the design wall is now all put together and still patiently waiting for that perfect piece of polar fleece to be located.

And in it’s place on the design wall, are my Cowboy Challenge blocks. Each year, our guild offers a challenge of some type to the members. Last year’s challenge split us all into groups, and each group had a theme, and then each group could make up their own rules about how they wanted to create blocks to trade. My group, naturally, had a Cowboy theme. We each made blocks each month for 6 months, and gave to each other. We now have all our blocks, and it’s time to put them together into a finished quilt. Design Wall Monday - Nov2

Well, remember I said that when I was in Houston I bought a cutting horse fusible silhouette, and My Cowboy ordered a king-sized quilt? I’ve decided to kill two birds with one stone here . . .

I’m making my Cowboy Challenge blocks into a king-sized quilt, and I’m also incorporating the cutting horse silhouette and a bunch of other stuff. So I have it mostly designed, and thanks to my group, most of the blocks are already made, and I got busy and fused my cutting horse thingie on, and isn’t it looking good so far? I can’t wait to get more of it put together . . . Check back next week to see if I’ve made any progress.

And for today, check out Judy’s site to see what everyone else is up to on this Design Wall Monday.

Published in: on November 2, 2009 at 8:53 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/design-wall-monday-nov-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad you’re feeling better. I think you’ll really enjoy the cowboy quilt combining all the challenge blocks and that neat silhouette. Did it come with fusible on it?

    • Yes! It came completely ready to fuse down and it was sooooo easy! I got some horseshoes, too, and I’m going to use those somewhere on the quilt.

  2. I love your cowboy quilt….I can’t wait to see it finished. I hope you didn’t have a set back from Saturday.
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

