Weekend Challenge – Nov. 6

It’s time for the Weekend Challenge once again . . . are you ready?

How did you do last week? Any progress?

I said I was going to draw the lines on the backs of all those little squares, so I sucked it up and got it done:

linesonsquares

I also said I was going to finish cutting out the project on my workbench, and here it is, all in its own cute little basket to be used as my current scrap quilt project. It’s a Kaffe Fassett design out of the new book My Cowboy bought me in Houston (I can’t remember the name of the project, but I can look it up if anyone’s that interested). I’m making mine out of scraps, not necessarily Kaffe fabrics.

kaffeproject

I also decided to venture into horrifying territory and try to clean off the top of my island. Here’s how it looked before I started: (is that a royal mess or what?)

islandmess1

Two hours later, here’s how it looked: (not much better, huh?)

Weekend Challenge Nov 2

Can you tell I get horribly sidetracked? I admit it openly — I’m a bit ADD. I’m one of those people who can end up standing in the barn with my bra in one hand and a hammer in the other, and have no idea why I’m even in the barn, and probably leave something simmering on the stove the whole time! During this particular cleaning “attempt” (and I use that word loosely), I ended up hauling out my two biggest bins of large yardage and refolding every single piece of it. That’s why the island really doesn’t look any better. I’ll try again this week . . . 

For my real Weekend Challenge this weekend, I’ll once again be traveling, so I’m hauling along more blanket stitching. Since being sick, I still run out of energy pretty quickly, so blanket stitching will be easy and fairly mindless, and I have committed to getting those blocks done by December 3, so there’s nothing else to do but work on them.

What will YOU be doing?

Published in: on November 6, 2009 at 12:38 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/weekend-challenge-nov-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Gave myself wiggle room on my challenge. “More of the same on my DWR, the Ladder to the Stars and/or my nephew’s quilt”. Since we went to the marching band contest, I didn’t get much done over the weekend, but over this past week is another story. Last row sewn on DWR – still have 4-patches to seam. Backing pieced (from my stash!) for the DWR, and all but 1 4″ square hand quilted on my newphew’s quilt. Hope to get that done tonight, then I can work on the machine quilted borders. But first I need to finish the setting instructions for a BOM at my LQS. Ladder to the Stars will just have to wait.


Leave a Reply

