Babies, Babies, Everywhere!

It’s raining babies, or so it seems! I can’t keep up with making baby quilts! I did finally finish the top of Bella’s quilt. Poor little thing will be 4 months old on Saturday, and I still don’t have her quilt finished. But it’s all basted and ready for the hand quilting, so it should be finished soon (hopefully before she goes to Kindergarten).

This is a pattern by Barbara Brackman and Karla Menaugh of the Sunflower Pattern Cooperative. It’s called Baby’s Basket, and it’s an adaptation of an early primitive design. It was very fun to do. The pattern is still for sale — this place has it: Quilter’s Warehouse.

bellasquilt

Then I went to my cupboard and drug out a panel I’ve had stashed for years. This is a Jack Dempsey stamped Crib Quilt Top that you embroider and then quilt. I don’t know if you can still buy such a thing for only $6.79! (Tells you just how long I’ve had it stashed!) In fact, I don’t think Jack Dempsey even offers this particular design any longer. I am going to work this up and it will be for the neighbor boy that does our chores when we’re off traveling. He and his girlfriend are expecting. Don’t you think it will work for either a boy or a girl?

Babies Babies Everywhere

And that’s not all! Our nephew, Tod, and his wife, Tracy, the parents of these two here, are now expecting their third child. So I need to come up with an idea for a baby quilt for them, and, since I haven’t yet given the other two their very own quilts, I’ll need to make Connor and Carter each a quilt of their own, too, so it looks like I’m going to be busy!

Published in: on November 11, 2009 at 9:46 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/babies-babies-everywhere/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The baby basket is beautiful!! I think the raggedy Ann and Andy top will work for both sexes. You sure get a lot of things accomplished! I need to get started on that calendar schedule! :0)
    Kathy

  2. […] some hand quilting on Bella’s Baby Quilt . . . it’s going slow, but it’s a relaxing process, and it’s such a darling quilt […]

  3. […] Bella will be one year old in July. I’d say I’m a tad late. That’ll teach me to decide to hand quilt something. Heirloom, HA! […]


Leave a Reply

