Mmm . . . Dee-Rishus!

My best friend has a granddaughter that we call Miss Miranda. When she was little and liked something yummy she would say: Dee-rishus! So now, we all still use the term . . . and it definitely came to mind when these little gems came out of the oven last night.

I’m surprised My Cowboy didn’t burn his mouth on them. He was nearly taking them right off the spatula and gobbling them down! This is my favorite Peanut Butter Cookie recipe ever. I used to make these with my mother when I was only 5 years old. She would put my little red polka-dotted apron on me, stand me on a chair, and put everything in front of me on the kitchen table and I would follow all the steps she told me. I’m sure she’s also mostly responsible for why I LOVE to eat cookie dough before the cookies are even baked! 

But most of them managed to make it into the oven last night . . . here’s the recipe for you, so you can hear all of your family exclaim “Dee-rishus”, too:

Peanut Butter Cookies

1/2 cup shortening (I use Crisco)

1/2 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 beaten eggs

1 cup peanut butter

3 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

Dash salt

Cream together the shortening, butter, brown sugar, sugar, and vanilla. Add the eggs and beat thoroughly. Stir in peanut butter. 

Stir together flour, soda, and salt; add to the creamed mixture.

Form dough into tiny balls; roll in granulated sugar, and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Press with the back of  a fork to make a criss-cross. (If you prefer, you can also roll the dough and cut it with cookie cutters.)

Bake at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Makes 7-8 dozen.

Published in: on December 3, 2009 at 8:22 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/mmm-dee-rishus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s funny how our vocabulary gets added to by the little ones and it just sticks for years! Might have to try this recipe, even though I’m still trying to take off those last ten pounds!

  2. […] And for a cookie recipe, I’m linking to one of Hazel’s old standbys. My Cowboy loves these: Peanut Butter Cookies. […]


Leave a Reply

