Stash Report #1

My very first Stash Report . . . I’m so nervous! Just kidding . . . I think this exercise will prove to be very enlightening, and I expect to get some good information for myself from doing it.

So here goes:

Used this week: 30.625 yds

Used Year to Date: 30.625 yds

Added this week: 4.75 yds

Added Year to Date: 4.75 yds

Net used for 2010: 25.875 yds

Not off to a bad start. So much was “used” because I sorted fabrics into some bins for quilts I’m making, and had not counted it as being used before. Now that it’s really dedicated to a specific project, I’m counting it as used. If I end up not using it all, I’ll add it back in when I’m done with those projects, just to keep it fair.

I have also decided to post some pictures of what my stash looks like right now, and then I’ll take some more pictures at the end of the year, to see if I’ve made any improvement in the storage of said stash.

So . . . here’s my pre-cut cartons, sorted by size of pre-cut pieces, and my applique scrap baskets, sorted by color. I don’t expect these to change too much because I have these the way I want them, and they are soooo convenient to use out of. I love this system, so it’s all set.

However, here’s my larger pieces . . . I also love this storage system, but the only problem with it right now, is that the bins are too full and I can’t fasten the lids on very many (if any) of these cartons. The goal is to be able to fasten all the lids before the end of the year.

Then I also have this . . .

and this . . .

and this . . . which is mostly backing fabrics. If I finish as many things as I want to this year, this drawer should be empty!

I also have one other stack in another room that I didn’t take a photo of. My goal is to get all this fabric either used up or integrated into the large bins in the island, so that those drawers and shelves are freed up to make space for other items. Think I can do it in just one year? 

Also, see this wall? The shameful wall of UFO cartons . . .

I really really have a goal of lessening the number of these cartons. They’re stacked to the ceiling, for Heaven’s sake! I need to finish some stuff, get rid of the number of cartons, and not have so many irons in the fire, and be able to use my shelves for other items as well. So, I have my work cut out for me this year, don’t you think? Wish me luck!

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 8:20 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/stash-report-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is some UFO shelf! You made me feel way better about mine. Good luck this year!

  2. Your storage system looks awesome! I love the baskets, and it all looks so organized….LOL.

    I hate to say it, but I believe you have more UFO’s than I do! Wow! I did my first stash report also, and believe it will help!

    Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

