Musings From the Cold

I think my brain is frozen . . . We are in the grip of some bitter cold that shows no signs of letting up, with another winter storm on the way. Doing morning chores in 20-below wind chills is not my idea of fun. Doing evening chores when it’s barely above 0 is not much better! In spite of my complaints, I love living on the farm, and I love all our animals — we’ll get through it just like every winter.

All our animals are wearing thick, woolly winter coats. They’re so cute all fuzzed up, especially the little calves. My Cowboy said this morning that he felt like one of the “Space Cowboys”; he was so bundled up, it was like wearing an astronaut’s suit — he could barely move his arms!

I made some updates to my web site this morning. I added a “comfort food” recipe to the Prairie Moon Ranch Cookbook . . . well, actually, a “comfort cookie” recipe. I like having “slice and bake” cookie dough in the freezer during the winter, cuz I can then just bake only what we want a few at a time, which then gives me an excuse to light the oven more often, which in turn warms up the kitchen a little more! See how that works?

I’m also having a January Clearance sale. I’m revamping my vendor booth for this coming year, so I’m trying to clear out some of the old and make way for some new! I’ll probably add some more items as the month goes on, and when these things are gone, they’re gone, so it’s a good chance to get some good deals.

I’m braving the cold to meet with the Noon Stitchers today, and to my own surprise, I’m caught up on my Farmer’s Wife blocks to date. I know, I know, I can hardly believe it myself! But, look, here they are (ignore the Sunbonnet Sue quilt peeking in from the lower right corner):

I also have 5 blocks of my Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler finished, too, but I’m saving those up to show later on.

Published in: on January 5, 2010 at 9:20 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/05/musings-from-the-cold/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m impressed with your Farmer’s Wife Blocks. I actually made 3 more blocks last week-end so now I’m up to 6 blocks. I don’t how many should be done by now. It seems like the blocks go together pretty fast. Tell the girls hi at noon.

  2. And to think I was whining that it was around 45 when I drove to work today!! Stay warm. 🙂

  3. I haven’t even started my Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler yet. I think I need to finish up some projects first before I start another one. I haven’t decided on colors yet either. I like the blue and white ones in the book. What colors are you using?


Leave a Reply

