Design Wall Monday – Jan. 11

Already the second report for this year . . . I can tell it’s going to go fast . . . and I have a lot I want to get done.

Stashballs is coming along really nicely . . . I’m very excited about it being almost finished. In fact, it’s not even up on the design wall any more.

The Cowboy Quilt got a little boost this week. I have the side sections for the middle finished. I just need to join the sections on the right-hand side, and add them to the middle section. Then I can move on to the bottom third of the quilt, and I’ll soon be done. I need to keep making steady progress on this quilt, because it has to be done in time for our guild’s quilt show around the first of June, and I don’t want to have to scramble at the last minute to finish it.

I took down the Sunbonnet Sues because the missing block never appeared. I just know that as soon as I make a replacement, it will just appear out of nowhere in a very obvious location as if it was laying there all along. Ugh! However, if it doesn’t appear soon, I’ll have to make another one, because we just found out that our nephew and his wife’s third baby they are expecting is a girl, and this quilt is going to be for her. I need to find out when she’s due, so I’ll know how long I can keep looking before I break down and make that other block!

So on the wall in place of the Sunbonnet Sues is this:

This is the first of the Necktie Social Project‘s large quilts. Volunteers have been super busy making blocks, so I thought I’d best get busy setting them together. There is a method to the layout, and this is just 1/4 of it. I’ll be putting the pattern up as a free pattern on my web site right after the quilt is finished, so be watching for that if you’re interested. Relay for Life of Macon County (MO) is going to use this first quilt as a fundraiser for the American Cancer Society, so it’ll need to be finished up sometime soon. It won’t take long to set together. The second quilt is already planned, and soon volunteers will be making blocks for that one.

Published in: on January 11, 2010 at 7:54 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/design-wall-monday-jan-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW, you have been busy! I really like the cowboy Quilt now that you have added more to it! Really enjoy watching your progress.

  2. Love the cowboy quilt. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  3. I like the cowboy quilt too. maybe if you just pretend you’re going to make another sunbonnet sue block it will show up…

  4. Your cowboy quilt looks great! I really like the bowtie blocks and will check back to see what the full quilt looks like. You are definitely getting a good start on your projects this year!


Leave a Reply

