Week 2 Finishes

Whew! It was close, but I managed to do it . . . 

Here’s my two finishes for this week. These are both shop samples from the Prairie Moon Ranch BOM. I’ve been carting them to trunk shows unquilted for over 6 months, and decided it’s time to finish them up. (Embarrassingly, I’ve even had someone offer to buy the throw quilt from me just as it was — unquilted!)

The first is this little table topper. I love this little quilt. My Cowboy asked me what I intended to do with it now that it’s finished, since I do sell some of my shop samples when I’m through with them. I said: “I like it. I think I’ll keep it.” He, riding his manly train of thought, then asked: “What do you use a quilt like that for?” I said, “It’s a table mat. You use it on the table like a tablecloth; for example, under a centerpiece.” With his train moving at warp speed straight down the tracks, he then quips: “But we don’t HAVE a table.” Am I gonna let a little thing like THAT stop me? NOooo . . . Maybe someday I’ll have a table, and then I can use it, perhaps with a cute centerpiece on top. I must add, at this point, that I do NOT like what I chose to bind this quilt with. This is probably the first time, in almost 40 years of quilting, that I have ever not liked the binding on a quilt I’ve made. I made this quilt out of scraps. I wanted to use the green, but there was no more left. So I would have liked to have used the red, but no more of it, either. My third choice would have been the brown border print, but, you guessed it, that was all gone, too. So I used the brown that I used in the blocks themselves, but for some reason, it just doesn’t look good. But since I’m keeping it, no matter. Someday it will probably still look really cute on my table (if I ever get one)!

My second finish this week is this large throw quilt. I love this quilt, and intend to keep it, too — don’t tell My Cowboy! It was really fun to quilt. I didn’t know that they even made Kansas Troubles backings, but the fabric that I put on the back of this quilt was a wide backing from Kansas Troubles that I found at Corner Quilt Fabrics in Warrenton. It worked out really well, and I really like it. I had to stay up late last night to get the binding on. I hope I’m not going to have to continue staying up late every Thursday night just to get my two finishes every week!

Published in: on January 15, 2010 at 8:24 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/week-2-finishes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations, Shelly. I am soooo proud of you. I am proud that I know you. I am proud that you let me see your works in progress. Life has never been the same since you came to work where I worked back those years ago. I have to have a copy of this book.
    Rose Marie


Leave a Reply

