Shack Attack

I’ve said it before . . .

You may not really believe me (but you can ask my friends) . . .

We live in a shack.

For real . . . it’s just a little ranch shack, sort of an afterthought to the rest of the place. A tiny little rectangular building covered with tin on the outside, with a flat tin roof. It’s not much better inside. No real heat, no finished ceilings, and some of the walls aren’t even finished (but the floors aren’t made of dirt). But it’s our mansion . . . 

I’ve tried, really I have, to “fix it up” a bit, make it a bit more homey and cozy, but I’ll tell you, it’s a job. We debate whether to spend any money on it, since it’s not really a real house . . . is it really worth it? Should we just build something else? If we do, what exactly do we want? Where do we want to put it? And the discussions go on, without us really coming to any good conclusions agreements yet. Besides, it’s a farm — there’s always something else we need to spend the money on: fences, hay, vet bills, equipment, gravel, truck maintenance, feed, and most recently, our trusty plumber.

The Prairie Moon Quilts Studio is attached to this pathetic shack. It’s wonderful — I made sure of that when we built it on. It has a painted wooden floor, a white tin ceiling, painted white walls; it’s spacious, has good lighting, and best of all, it has heat! You know where I spend most of my time, don’t you?

However, I have vowed that I will devote a little more time this year to making our shack the best little shack ever. I’m starting in the kitchen. Mainly because there was this hole in the wall . . .

There used to be a wood stove here, but we never used it, so we took it out. We patched it all up, and I’m painting it, and I’m going to turn it into a pantry. So this is my first Shack Attack project for 2010. We’ll see how it progresses, and I’ll give you some updated pictures when it’s done. I also have some other big plans for the kitchen before this is over, so stay tuned . . .

Published in: on January 21, 2010 at 1:54 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/shack-attack/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My goodness you are a busy lady!! Running a farm, running a quilting business, running an awesome quilt along, renovating your home! Have fun with your pantry renovations!

    • That should tell you why the poor little shack has suffered so! Time for it to get a little TLC.

  2. We all to see before and after images – keep us posted on your progress! My Grammy had a walk in pantry in her 1907 house – I still think of it to this day and had hoped to incorporate one into our present home when we built…just didn’t work into the plans. So I envy you with a pantry…

    Have a good weekend.

  3. I agree..you are busy…and you are very talented. Can’t wait to see what you do.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  4. […] it just has no place at Prairie Mud Moon Ranch! But who am I kidding? I don’t even have my pantry finished […]

  5. […] this? My first Shack Attack project for this year. Well, here we are 1/4 done with 2010, and I’m no further along with it than I […]


Leave a Reply

