Design Wall Monday – Jan. 25

I kept my little design wall smokin’ this past week. Last week I had the first section of the Necktie Social quilt up there. Well, I finished that. Then I had this Community Service quilt top up there . . .

. . . finished it and it came down. Then I had this Community Service quilt top up there . . .

. . . finished it and it came down. For years, I’ve had in my studio, a plastic bin filled with scraps that belong to our guild. Scraps from past and previous guild raffle quilts. I just kept collecting them and keeping them in a bin, with the intention of using them for the guild, since they belong to the guild. Well, I got to thinking . . . (yes, it’s a dangerous pastime for me) . . . if I made all those scraps into Community Service quilts for the guild, I would have one less bin on my shelf. So I drug it out and started chopping. You can see that it was quite a motley collection, since some of those are not fabrics I’d normally combine, but I was truly trying to use up every last bit of it. After completing this top, and finding enough in there to also back it with, I’m down to one little pile of tiny scraps that I’m going to cut into squares for one more quilt. I have some orphan 4-patches laying in a drawer I’ll add to them to make the quilt big enough, so not only will they be used up, too, the guild scrap box will be gone! Another mission accomplished!

Finally I put up part of the second section of the Necktie Social quilt. I hope to finish it this week, but it might take a bit longer than that.

I added a few pieces to the Cowboy Quilt, but not much. I’ll probably concentrate on it a bit more this week, since it’s so close to finished.

That’s it for me this week. Hop on over to JudyL’s to see what everyone else is up to this week with their Design Walls.

Published in: on January 25, 2010 at 9:33 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/design-wall-monday-jan-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’ve been a busy lady!

  2. That’s it? You have been very busy and got a lot accomplished. You did an amazing job on all those tasks.

  3. You have been piecing up a storm and making good use of your design wall!

  4. Whoa! You were busy. Good job at putting all of those scraps together. I’m sure it feels good to put those scraps to good use.

  5. Wow. You accomplished a lot this past week!

  6. You really got a LOT done this week! Way to go!


Leave a Reply

