Week 4 and 5 Finishes

I’ll bet you thought I was already giving up on the “finish 2 things a week” thing, didn’t you? I certainly haven’t posted any finishes for a while. However, I’m hanging in there — I don’t want to give up on finishing things this early in the year.

Here’s my finishes for Week 4:

This first one is a twin-sized fuzzy quilt for the ReliefShare project. ReliefShare is a Houston, MO, based 501(c)3 non-profit organization, and one of their current projects is collecting 240 quilts to donate to the Shriner’s Hospital in St. Louis, MO, for them to use on patient beds. They still need right at 100 quilts to meet their goal, and I am working to make about a dozen of these quilts for them to use for their project. If you’d like to help, go read about the project on their website.

My other finish was my third Pay It Forward gift, but of course, I can’t show you a picture of it. It’s in the mail to its recipient, so maybe she’ll post it later, and you can see it then.

And here’s my finishes for Week 5:

I made a baby quilt for our neighbor boy, Nick, and his girlfriend, Hallie. Sunday afternoon, I attended the shower, and she saw it for the first time. And, this is the only picture I have of it finished. This is the Hare-y’s Night Harvest quilt I’ve mentioned before.

And I finished My Cowboy’s flannel and polar fleece throw quilt. I finished the top last fall, and he wanted the backing to be Nebraska Cornhuskers polar fleece, but in all our travels, I never did find it, so I finally ordered some from eBay . . . well before Christmas. It didn’t arrive until MID-January — that’s the longest I’ve ever had to wait for something I bought on eBay, but it’s a wonderful thick piece and was worth the wait.

I didn’t use any batting, and I just used the longarm to quilt wavy lines down each long seam to hold it together. I was going to leave the edges raggedy, but decided he’d probably like it better with binding, and since I had already made the binding, I put it on. He wrapped up in it immediately, and declared it warm, so I guess it’s all right!

Published in: on February 9, 2010 at 9:48 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/week-4-and-5-finishes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I finished two this week. One was a quilt I decided that I didn’t really like, but didn’t know it until I was about half way through. Because I am a very dedicated finisher, I finished and sent it to a machine quilter. It came back and I bound it. The binding is red dots and now that it is on, I like the quilt again. Silly, I know. But, it is now put away for Christmas for my parents. One down for next year.


Leave a Reply

