Valentine Cookies

If you’ve been following the Hazel’s Diary blog, then you’ve been introduced to my Great-Aunt Ruby. Aunt Ruby is my maternal grandmother’s youngest sister. 

Aunt Ruby is quite a character. She is 91 years old now, and is still in pretty good health, although her memory is not good (but I have that problem, too, and I’m nowhere near 91). My mother loved her, and so do I. She has the most fun-loving personality, and seems to be always laughing. During our last visit, I think we did more laughing than talking!

Aunt Ruby is the one who taught me to crochet, and I still say she’s the one who gave me the BEST piece of advice I’ve ever gotten: “Take all the advice you can get, then do as you please!” I live by it to this day.

She doesn’t do too much baking or cooking any more, simply because, as she puts it: “I just don’t have to!” When I visited her a few weeks ago, she proudly showed me her freezer full of TV dinners! I say good for her!

When she did bake, she was very good at it, as were all the women in the family, and her most famous recipe in my little world was her Sugar Cookies. At every holiday, she would make lots and lots of them and decorate them, and give some to everyone in the family. She always made special ones for all the littler kids, and every year, at Valentine’s Day, she made special Valentine cookies for my daughters as well. They came to expect it, and so looked forward to it. Aunt Ruby is a very special lady.

My sister and I have Aunt Ruby’s recipe, and we make these cookies, too. My sister made some at Christmas last year. I decided that this year, I’d make a few for Valentine’s Day, even though my daughters aren’t anywhere near enough to have any themselves. And I’m going to share the recipe here, so you, too, can make some of Aunt Ruby’s Special Sugar Cookies. Why not start your own tradition?

Aunt Ruby’s Special Sugar Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 1/4 cups flour

2 tsps. baking powder

1/4 tsp. mace

Dash salt

Cream butter and sugar together; add egg, milk, and vanilla. Beat well.

Mix dry ingredients and blend into creamed mixture. Chill overnight. Roll out, cut, and bake at 375 degrees for 7-8 minutes.

Note: The mace is optional, but it imparts a special flavor that makes these cookies all Aunt Ruby’s own. Every time I taste it, I think of her. 

There’s no particular frosting recipe for these cookies, so just use your own favorite frosting recipe, or do like me and my sister, and buy the pre-made stuff in the plastic can!

I basically suck at decorating anything that is food (or my house, either, for that matter), but I tried my hand at it anyway. I made some big hearts . . .

 . . . and some little hearts . . .

. . . and then I decorated a few just for My Cowboy . . .

. . . so far, he’s still looking at them and hasn’t eaten any yet!

Published in: on February 11, 2010 at 10:58 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/valentine-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. They are all beautifully decorated and look very yummy!
    Micki

  2. I am laughing so hard at your Cowboy’s cookies that I almost choked! Can I borrow your idea for the Hunter?

    Thanks for the sugar cookie recipe. I will try it next time I make them, which is fairly often. We have a couple of old family sugar cookie recipes also…..

    Your Aunt Ruby sounds like a wonderful woman! What a treat that she is still around for all of you!

    Bari

    • Of course you can borrow the idea! The underwear cookies are not my idea — I saw some like them years ago, can’t remember where. I thunk up the bra ones to go with them. What’s really hysterical is that he’s eating them in matching sets!

  3. Shelly, Your cookies for your cowboy are hilarious! You Rock! Have a great Valentine’s day! And happy sewing!

  4. I heard from the other Shelly I had to come see your cookies… I am on a bus heading out to my house and people are telling me to shush because I can’t stop giggling…. Girl, you Are my kind of gal withat sense of humor… Thanks for a big smile… ( gotta make me so
    e of those!). Ha hah a


Leave a Reply

