Inspiration

Where do you find it?

Do you look for it?

Does it just hit you out of the blue?

I always welcome spurts of inspiration.

Or, at least I thought I did.

Until yesterday, when I caught myself trying to squelch a couple of new ideas trying to enter my brain.

It really came as a shock to me that I was trying to stop myself from thinking up something new!

Why would I do that?

Upon further reflection on that one point, I came to the conclusion that I’m in a bit of a state of overwhelm right at the moment.

But I’ve been in states of overwhelm oftentimes before. (I don’t even have small children at home any more!)

What’s new about this one?

I have no idea.

But I made a decision right then to not ever do that again . . . never squelch an idea when it’s trying to take root.

These days I carry a notepad and pen and my camera with me nearly everywhere I go. 

You never know when there’s going to be something that inspires you, and you need to record it. 

Don’t let the good ideas get away.

I spend a lot of time outdoors, and in the woods.

Nature is very inspiring.

I spent a lot of time at quilt shows, quilt shops, and looking at quilts.

I never fail to come away inspired.

Inspiration is all around us, all the time. 

I intend to pay even more attention than I have in the past.

To that end, I’m thinking about posting something here on the blog each week that I find inspiring.

You can come check in and see if it inspires you, too.

Even post something that you find inspiring and link back to it from here.

Maybe we can all inspire each other. 

What do you think?

Published in: on March 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/inspiration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like the idea of you posting something inspiring every week. I am always looking for some inspiration. Like you, sometimes I get an idea, but before I can do anything about it, time, life or whatever carries it away.

  2. Great idea! I should carry my camera, a notepad, and all that with me all the time also….I have so many good ideas that I forget….

    I have heard of folks that actually have an inspiration notebook, like a large looseleaf notebook where they keep all those little snippets of inspiration, photos, sayings, or whatever. Maybe I should get more organized and start one of those!

    Can’t wait to see your posts…


Leave a Reply

