Quilt Til U Wilt

It had been raining all night. I nearly had to swim to the truck and back to get my stuff loaded! Just kidding, I don’t even know how to swim, but I did have to wade quite a bit of mud.

I had to use 4-wheel drive to get out to the nearest hard-surfaced road, and then when I got to the nearest town, this was parked (as in not moving at all) in the crossing.

But I wasn’t about to let any of that deter me . . . I was on my way to Quilt Til U Wilt, the first one I have gotten to attend in quite a long time. And it was fun! (The train backed out of the way without making me wait too long.)

My favorite thing about a Quilt Til U Wilt is the uninterrupted sewing time. Now you might think that I, having no children at home any more, could have lots of uninterrupted sewing time at home . . . but, NOoo! I have an uncanny ability to interrupt myself in so many ways you can’t even imagine. Laundry, dishes, barking dogs, yowling cats . . . getting a drink, eating something, potty breaks, and a myriad of other excuses I can find to constantly keep myself in a state of flittiness (is that a word?). I have the attention span of a gnat. 

But at Quilt Til U Wilt, there’s a table of food, and I just grazed all day, the bathroom was close and handy, and I had only brought a specific bunch of projects to work on, and I didn’t have to worry about laundry or kennel feuds all day, even though I did have some mud on my jeans, dang it.

My second favorite thing about Quilt Til U Wilt is seeing what everyone else is working on. And I wasn’t disappointed. Peggy was working on her group challenge . . . If you recall, my group was Cowboy-themed . . . Peggy’s group did Black and White with a Splash of Color, and here are her blocks:

Rose Marie brought her Carolina Christmas quilt to show. This was a Bonnie Hunter Mystery project.

Scarlett finished up a baby quilt top she was working on. This pattern is called Baby Rainbow by Pals4Ever.

And Kay showed her Posey Patch top. I love how she’s just peeking out from behind it!

There were more, but these were the shots I got when I wasn’t too busy sewing up all the stuff I took with me. I finished everything I brought to work on — that’s the first time that’s ever happened, and now I know I need to bring even more next weekend when we have our retreat, another event I’m just terribly excited about! And guild meeting is in between — this is just a Super Quilty week! I hope you all have a Super Quilty week your ownselves!

Published in: on March 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/quilt-til-u-wilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

