Tin Ceilings

Random people think I’m weird.

I know they do.

They stare.

Because I take pictures of the ceiling.

I wonder if they even notice the ceiling.

Because I do.

I love an old tin ceiling.

And there are quite a few to be seen.

They have the most wonderful designs.

It’s another thing that inspires me.

This one is from my favorite steak house, Front Row, in Shelbina, MO. Isn’t it gorgeous? (It’s not really yellow, but it showed up better without the flash on.)

This one is from my favorite coffee shop, Washington St. Java Co., in Kirksville, MO.

I designed this quilt based on that ceiling.

It was a delight to work on. 

I named it “Always Look Up”.

The quilt shop where I work part time, Sticky Wicket, in Mexico, MO, has a wonderful old tin ceiling. The building used to be a shoe store.

Sew Sweet Quilt Shop in Brunswick, MO, has a new tin ceiling that looks old . . . fabulous. But I don’t have a picture of it. They have it painted a buttery gold color.

Do you remember to look up?

If you forget, you might miss something inspiring . . .

Published in: on April 8, 2010 at 8:58 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/tin-ceilings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your Always Look Up quilt is spectacular. I see sparkle on it and I love sparkle but the quilt is very beautiful. Keep looking up!

  2. I too love tin ceilings. (They’re pretty hard to find in NM.)
    I love the quilt you made that was inspired by a tin ceiling. Great idea!

  3. I LOVE tin ceilings. They are so beautiful!


Leave a Reply

