It Only Took 4 Months

That’s all — Four months . . .

For my scrap basket to look like this. I got it all under control at the end of the year, and downsized the size of the basket, and vowed to keep it under better control this year.

Well, you can see what has happened.

I pay it no never mind whatsoever.

So much for my vow . . . I’m pathetic.

Here’s what it’s supposed to look like:

See my cute little singing/dancing stuffed horse (in the top photo)? That was a gift from My Cowboy. The cats didn’t quite know what to make of it at first. Gidget actually hissed and ran! 

But back to the subject at hand . . .

The purpose of the basket is to hold scraps from whatever I’m working on that I’m done with. These scraps get put back into the storage bins, or else cut up into pre-ordained sizes and put in their respective cartons.

Obviously, I never take the time to follow through on those good intentions.

My intent was to empty out the basket once a month.

What is in the basket is NOT from just one month — but wouldn’t I have just been the prolific one if it were? What’s in the basket is from this entire year . . . I haven’t gone through it even once. My guess is, if I tried hard enough, I could round up even more scraps that need to go in there. I can think of three such piles as I write — oh, help me!

I’m not telling you this because I’ve now decided that I need to do something about it, either. Oh, no . . . I still have no intentions in the near future of taking care of this mess. That would mean having to clean up, straighten up, organize . . . ouch! Who needs that torture?

I just thought it might be cleansing to confess that I’m a total wreck in the organization department.

There . . . that makes me feel much better!

I’m sure that none of you ever let your scraps get out of control, do you?

Published in: on May 4, 2010 at 10:12 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/it-only-took-4-months/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, at least you’re quilting and working on projects in order to accumulate a scrap pile like that! I would be thrilled with a pile like that! I’m not getting anything done! And yes, you are organized. I can’t believe you keep track of your stash! I couldn’t imagine measuring everything I have and counting what I use! You’re my hero!

  2. At least you’re not in denial like I am! LOL!

  3. At least you have a basket it is sitting on. Mine are still behind my cutting mat with a ruler laying on top of them. I take care of them when they start interfering with cutting.

  4. My scraps are pretty out of control. They are in a BIG plastic tub in my sewing room. I have vowed for 2 years to cut them all up to use them with Bonnie Hunter’s scrap user’s system. Haven’t gotten there yet, but hope to this fall.

  5. I’m sorry to be so contrary, Shelly, but I am planning to MAKE more scraps. I’m hoping that will happen when I am able to quilt a lot more than I’m able to now! But as usual, you are more advanced than I, and you are a couple of years ahead of me!

  6. I was doing really well with my scraps, and then I was given some scrap bags. Well, my bin is even worse off than yours. What can I say? But, I have good intentions and ideas and plans for them…someday.

    • That is why my stash reports are in the negative numbers. I can’t turn down a good scrap bag! Where else can you get pieces of someone’s stash that’s different than yours for free?


Leave a Reply

