Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies

It’s done! The quilts are all finished, and I’m putting the finishing touches on the patterns. It’s in the online store, and ready for pre-order, and will begin shipping the latter part of next week. Whew! I’ve been working so hard on this project, that’s why other stuff has seemed to be riding in the back of the wagon. And worst of all, I couldn’t show it all to you till it was done! Which made me look really lame as far as accomplishing anything . . .

So without further ado, let me introduce you to all these cute projects. 

Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies (36″ x 36″)

This quilt has embroidered panels surrounded by simple, bright patchwork. It is made in sections that include the border, so when you have each section finished, you’re done with the entire thing, borders and all. How neat is that? (I hate fussing with borders)

Bee Happy (62″ x 80″)

This quilt is the one that started this whole project. If you’ve been with me long, you may remember seeing it before. I was commissioned by the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Mid-Missouri to make them a quilt with a Bee theme for their annual Spelling Bee. While experimenting with fabrics, designs, and colors, I ended up with lots of unused ideas, patches, and pieces, and it spawned the ideas for all the rest of the quilts.

Busy As A Bee (76″ x 97″)

This is the biggest quilt in the collection. I used all my leftover auditions from “Bee Happy” to create these fun patchwork blocks, then downsized some of the same flowers and added my cute bees. (I think this one might be my favorite!)

Honey Of A Bee (31″ x 31″)

This is simply a gigantic Honey Bee block surrounded by a frame. Makes the cheeriest little table mat or wall quilt! And so easy and quick to make. 

Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies Mini-Quilt (12″ x 12″)

With a little bit more detail in the embroidery panel, this cute little mini version of the center portion of the larger quilt makes a cute gift, or a sweet decoration for a tiny nook that needs brightening up for summer. 

Oh, BeeHive! (5″ x 12″)

The baby of the family . . . a little tiny appliqued hive with embroidered details. Add a cute little hanger (we tell you where to get one just like it), and you’ve got a superfast, supercute decoration or gift.

But wait, there’s more!

When you purchase the pattern pack, you get instructions for all 6 projects, plus full-sized embroidery and applique patterns, along with general information and a few other surprise extras (like I always like to throw in).

In addition, you can sign up to do the “Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies” wall quilt as a Block-of-the-Month if you prefer. The Block-of-the-Month is done in 9 sessions, beginning with a Starter Pack for Month 1, with 8 months of additional sections to follow. It includes all the fabrics you’ll need for the quilt top and binding (in the same fabrics as the original quilt), all the embroidery floss you’ll need, and the entire “Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies” pattern pack. So you’ll end up with all 6 patterns just for doing the Block-of-the-Month! Can you beat that?

If you’d like to sign up for the Block-of-the-Month, my pal Mona, at Sticky Wicket Quilts, is handling all that for me, bless her little pea-pickin’ heart. So you can visit her web site: Sticky Wicket Quilts, where she will have updated information on the program soon, and then just give her a call to sign up if you want to go that route (573-581-6262).

Published in: on May 7, 2010 at 2:21 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/bees-blooms-and-butterflies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cute quilts. Can Bees, Blooms, and Butterflys count for your pinwheel challenge? I see one.

  2. Oh I love love love them…seriously…did you see the big red flower I recently put on a bag? How can I not like these.

  3. Busy as a bee is an absolute-screaming-favorite. If I wasn’t being such a good girl and FINISHING rather than STARTING new projects you can bet I would be on the phone right now. But, it will go on a wish list because I would be very happy making someting that cheerful. How could a person not be?

  4. Hi there!

    Thought you might be interested in visiting my blog:

    http://robich.blogspot.com/2010/05/what-snu-eh.html

    Love your new patterns, BTW!!!!

    Rosa

  5. Shelly — these are gorgeous! I always love your ideas, colors, and patterns. Love them!

  6. […] posted about all these quilts last Friday, when I announced that the pattern booklet was finally ready. Whew! Am I glad that project is off […]

  7. […] and Butterflies Give-Away Last Friday I posted about my new pattern booklet that’s out: Bees, Blooms, and Butterflies. I also showed them in my previous post, so I could count them as finishes for this year — […]

  8. Good Gravy Girl! Here you are always saying how you’re not getting anything accomplished and then you pull THIS out of your hat?! That’s not fair! However, you are forgiven because these are just too darn cute!

  9. I love the quilt with the embroidered panels. That is really cute! I agree with Karin, you have been so busy! I’m going to quit feeling sorry for you when you say you aren’t making any progress on your projects! ha ha!

  10. Hey, Shelly, these are really cute! I didn’t realize you had been working on all these projects. I think I’ll need to sign up for these . . . .

  11. […] have proven it last night. The Necktie Social quilt is already delivered, and all the Bees, Blooms, & Butterflies projects are already at a quilt shop on […]


Leave a Reply

