Necktie Social Quilt #1

It’s finally finished . . .

. . . the first Necktie Social Quilt.

This quilt is the work of a wonderful team of volunteers who all at some point helped me out with getting this wonderful quilt completed. They are listed on the Necktie Social page of my web site, where you can also read more about the project.

This quilt was made out of neckties that were donated to the project, combined with a consistent background and border fabric. For all that neckties can be boring, I think this quilt came out great! I’m so grateful to all my volunteers and to those who have donated to the project so far. 

This quilt is being presented to the Macon County (MO) Relay for Life Organization to be used as a raffle quilt to raise funds. 

Even though I did not do the bulk of the sewing of the blocks for this quilt, I designed it, I set it all together, and I did do the machine quilting, so I am counting it as one of my finishes for this year (Finish #18 to be exact). It’s also my first Spring To Finish challenge project, so I’m relieved to have this finished.

I’ve also added the pattern for this quilt to the Free Patterns section of my website. It’s just Bow Tie blocks, done very simply, then set in a barn-raising configuration. Go get the pattern and make one for yourself . . . 

Work has already begun on the second Necktie Social Quilt. If you’d like to help, don’t hesitate to contact me. I’m also tentatively planning a contest involving the Necktie Social later on this summer, so keep checking back for updates and more information on that.

Published in: on May 14, 2010 at 2:08 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/necktie-social-quilt-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations! What a beautiful quilt too! Love it. Truly better than I could have ever dreamed. I’m sure it will help raise $$$$ and for a great cause. Thank you so much for doing this, and thank you to all that helped!

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  2. What a great fund raiser quilt! I cannot imagine the time it took to prepare and cut all those ties! Sorry I can’t send you any. DH only has one tie.

  3. Ooooh it turned out so cool! 🙂 Good job.

  4. 1. The quilt is gorgeous.
    2. What a fantastic idea to make a bowtie quilt with neckties as the fabric.
    3. Sounds like a lot of fun to make with your friends.
    4. What a great cause and I hope you raise a lot of cashola.

    Great job!

  5. […] one of them. I have finished a few things, but I sure couldn’t have proven it last night. The Necktie Social quilt is already delivered, and all the Bees, Blooms, & Butterflies projects are already at a […]

  6. […] The Necktie Social Quilt […]


Leave a Reply

