A Recap

I’m generally too busy to do much posting on weekends . . . and this past weekend was pretty much like that.

I did participate in the Friday Night Sew-In, but I just never took the time to post about it on Saturday. I managed to get about half the things on my list completed, which is about how I thought I’d end up. So all’s good there . . .

Then I got up bright and early Saturday morning to head to the guild’s Quilt Til U Wilt. My guild is located almost an hour from my house, but it’s worth the drive. I took along Connor’s Cowboy Quilt blocks to sew up, since I was lucid enough earlier in the week to get them cut out like I had planned. I also took along my pinwheels for my QQB challenge, because I didn’t want to run out of anything to work on.

The thing I ended up running out of was thread, and not too far into the day, either! It was a tragedy! My best friend ran me down to the LQS to buy a couple spools to get through the day. Crisis averted, thanks to Rose Marie.

I had a blast, as usual. It’s always so fun to see what others are working on, and there was quite a variety this time. Here’s a shot of the group probably mid-day. The lady in the red t-shirt in the center is Bonnie, our quilt show chair this year. She didn’t bring stitching to work on, she brought a box of quilt show prep materials, and worked on last-minute details for the show. It’s happening June 4th and 5th, so we’re down to the wire. We have almost 150 quilts entered, vendors, fun activities for attendees with prizes, a raffle quilt, and a 25th anniversary celebration planned. It’s going to be fabulous, and I can hardly wait! Oh, no, I take that back — I need the extra time, because I don’t have one of my quilts finished just yet.

We all brought food, so the buffet was incredible. I foundered.

I brought Honey Bun Cake, a recipe courtesy of my bud, Karin, and it was a rave hit! This recipe is going to become a staple at my house. It’s good Cowboy food, and if anyone knows how to cook for cowboys, it would be Karin. You have to try it — it’s so good warm from the oven, you’ll founder, too!

Everyone stayed plenty busy working on various projects. I’ll give you a bit of show and tell . . .

Here’s one of our newest members, Debbie, showing a quilt she was putting the binding on. Debbie bought this kit from Herrschner’s when she was in junior high. I’ll mention right now that Debbie’s own daughter is in college! Debbie’s mother, Kay, wouldn’t let Debbie show the back side of this quilt, but I think the front is so adorable. The unicorn has a fringy mane and the ribbons are 3-dimensional.

Kay finished up her Egg Money Quilt top.

Jane has her group’s guild challenge quilt finished, just in time to enter it in the show. Her group did a Kansas Troubles theme. That’s Jane on the right, and Kathy behind it, helping her hold it.Rose Marie set together a spinning 4-patch quilt she started in a workshop last week. I love how these cute little blocks look. All from the same fabric, yet different.

Sandy’s working on a wedding quilt that has to be finished by October. She got the centers of all her blocks done. She’s making it all from batiks.

Kathy is working on a Bonnie Hunter Quiltville Mystery quilt called Old Tobacco Road. I LOVE her colors! This quilt is going to be completely stunning.

And Peggy is working on a Spice Train quilt from Jo Morton’s line . . . so warm and wonderful. And yes, that is Peggy her ownself walking on her quilt — (some were aghast) but since it’s hers, she can do that! I would so be the same way . . . I insist that my quilts be washable.

Several of us mused on how we were sitting around, taking perfectly good fabric, cutting it up in pieces, then sewing it back together, and even worse, gathering in groups to do it as if it makes perfect sense! I say it does! Don’t you?

Published in: on May 24, 2010 at 11:20 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/a-recap/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the honey bun recipe. I had so much fun on Saturday. I’m looking forward to the long week-end to get back into the sewing room.

  2. I am going to try that recipe!

  3. Looks like it was a great day! I haven’t had a sew-in day for well over a year now (since my move). I miss it! At least I get to participate vicariously through your post!


Leave a Reply

