My New Toy

My daughter is an angel . . .

. . . and she knows what I like . . .

. . . and she recently presented me with something I’ve been wanting for a long time . . .

A KitchenAid mixer . . .

Empire Red . . .

the big one!

Actually, I’ve had it for almost a whole month, but was afraid to take it out of the box.

It’s too fancy for the shack’s little kitchen. 

I was supposed to be getting my kitchen remodeled, but the date for that keeps slipping

(although I DO now have a mudroom that I’ll be showing you a bit later).

But I finally caved in and opened it up, just because I didn’t want to wait any longer to get to play with it.

It’s a dream machine!

I made a cake.

I was having so much fun with the mixer, I got a little over-zealous and beat the cake a little too much!

It was a tad flat . . . but still edible.

And I can’t wait to make something else so I can use it again!

My Cowboy has requested homemade mashed taters . . . mmmmm.

And if you want the cake recipe, it’s over on my other blog here.

Published in: on July 3, 2010 at 9:16 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/my-new-toy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The red mixer is the “in” thing right now. I have seen a few popping up on the quilting blogs lately. I love my Kitchen-Aid but it isn’t red. Would look good in my kitchen, though.

  2. I’ve had one for almost 10 years and we use it to no end. They are beasts, they are fantastic, and you’ll love it forever!

  3. I’m so jealous… I have always wanted one of those mixers… I’ve just never been able to buy it for myself! seems so indulgent! LOVE the red… I’d choose that too! 😉 hope your Cowboy is back on his feet…
    enjoy your new toy!!!

  4. It looks like a gem and the cake looks yummy! I love the red colour!
    Micki

  5. I just got a Kitchen Aid mixer a while ago and I love it!!!! I was able to find a space for it on my counter and it gets used often! Have fun with it!
    Tamara
    Ps. I find that I have been over mixing also!! It is so powerful – I am not used to that.

  6. what a lovely daughter!!! i have been wanting one of those for years, too. and a RED one, to boot!!! it’s beautiful!

  7. […] Mashed Taters Due to my current love affair with my new mixer, I’ve been making all this wonderful food. I’m gonna end up weighing a […]


Leave a Reply

