Independence Day

I hope you all have a wonderful happy safe Fourth of July. 

Fourth of July holds some sweet childhood memories for me.

Our entire family used to gather at my mother’s aunt and uncle’s place for a huge potluck dinner, complete with home-grown watermelon and homemade ice cream, lots of fireworks for the kids, and plenty of fun stuff to do.

It’s the first time I ever got to try bouncing on a Pogo stick . . . remember those? I never did get the hang of it.

The women scurried and bustled about getting the huge buffet table ready and keeping track of all the kids, while the men were in charge of freezing the ice cream, keeping conversation going, and playing horseshoes.

When it got dark, we all lined up on blankets on the grass to watch the nearby town’s large fireworks display, which we could see from their back yard. We’d go home late, full as ticks from the feast, exhausted from all the play, with a few mosquito and chigger bites to show for it. Aaaahhh, those were the days!

I hope you have lots of good memories of your own, and are continuing to make more every day.

To help celebrate this landmark of summer, I’m having a give-away. I have a new pattern coming out next week, and it’s a patriotic one. Yeah, yeah, I should have had it out sooner, but life happens; besides, Americana is “in” year-round, so it’s never a bad time to whip up a patriotic quilt, is it? 

It’s so new, I don’t even have pictures yet, so you’ll just have to take my word for it that you’ll like it — it’s kinda different. I’m giving away 2 copies of the pattern here, and all you have to do to get a chance to win one of them is leave a comment. I’m also giving away 2 copies over on my other blog, so you can hop over there and leave a comment for an extra chance to win! I’m drawing the winners on July 8.

Published in: on July 4, 2010 at 8:40 am  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/independence-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing your new pattern!

  2. I used to have a pogo stick – I remember hopping around on it. Have a great day.

  3. Happy July 4th from your Canadian neighbour!

    Great memories you have…please don’t add me to the patriotic giveaway though…I just wanted to wish you and your readers well today.

  4. I loved my pogo stick! Cannot imagine now how I ever stayed upright on it. I recall a contest in 4-H one time where we had to stay on the longest…a girl with over 100 jumps won. Maybe I was 7 at the time?

    Happy 4th today!

  5. I cannot wait to see the pattern. You have my curiosity piqued 🙂

  6. Ohhh… who can resist a giveaway?? Happy 4th from another Canadian neighbour!!

  7. I can’t wait to see your pattern 🙂

  8. Happy Independence Day! I have similar memories, but I think we had hoola-hoops. And I specifically recall that’s the first time I ate a peanut butter and banana sandwich on a hamburger bun!

  9. Any pattern of yours is welcome with me. Thanks for the chance. Besides, I like surprises.

  10. We have no family nearby so I basked in the memories of barbeque, watermelon, and ice cream. What special times those were. Hope your 4th was great.

  11. what a sweet post. i love the 4th of July. it holds a lot of sweet memories for me, too.

  12. Memories of 4th of July. Oven baked chicken. baked baby lima beans. Iced tea in big pitchers. Veteran’s talking. Firecrackers. Everyone meeting at my grandparents. Great memories.

  13. Ooo, I have childhood memories like that, too! So much fun then. Now I’m the one ‘bustling’ around! lol I LOVE patriotic so I know I’m gonna love the pattern–thanks for the giveaway!

  14. Sounds like a wonderful new pattern . Truly enjoy your blogs each time you write. Bari and I know each other she had told me about your blog. I live not far from her. I enjoy quilting, a hobby that my mother always did. Just wished I had more time to do it. Good luck in getting your kitchen done. It took me almost a year to get my two bathrooms done. There was always something else that came first.

  15. I love your patterns! I am developing quite a collection of them.

  16. Americana is ALWAYS in for me. I love it. Thanks for the nice giveaway!

  17. […] my Sweet Harmony quilt I finished Monday, and the samples from my patriotic pattern I’m giving away later today. (I’ll show pictures of them in that […]

  18. Thank you for offering your giveaway. Makes us all feel better in this blasting heat 🙂 Congrats on your 25th finish. You’re in great shape for the 100 things for the year!
    nsue21702 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

