Homemade Mashed Taters

Due to my current love affair with my new mixer, I’ve been making all this wonderful food. I’m gonna end up weighing a ton!

But My Cowboy requested these, so I kindly obliged him, and they were so good, I thought I’d share the recipe with you here.

Homemade Mashed Taters

8-10 medium red-skinned potatoes, peeled and quartered

3 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 stick butter, softened

3-4 cloves minced garlic

3 tbsps. half and half

1 tsp. seasoned salt

pepper to taste

Boil the potatoes in a large pot of water till done. You want them to be fork tender all the way through, so you don’t end up with chunky or lumpy mashed potatoes. Drain the water off when they’re done cooking.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese and butter till well mixed. Add the garlic and seasoned salt. 

Put in the potatoes and mix well. If you like, you can mash the potatoes up a bit before you throw them in, but I didn’t. I just let the mixer do all the work.

As you’re mixing, drizzle in the half and half, a tablespoon at a time. If you need more or less to get the potatoes the right consistency, then adjust accordingly. Add pepper to taste, and you’re ready to serve them.

I’m going to a family reunion today, and I’m taking along my Black Bean and Corn Salad. No mayo, so it’s good for an outdoor picnic, plus it’s very colorful AND good for you. You can find the recipe for it here: Prairie Moon Ranch Cookbook. It’s in the second column under July 2009.

Published in: on July 10, 2010 at 10:10 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/07/10/homemade-mashed-taters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have been making this same recipe for about a year now…they are THE best mashed potatoes ever! Your black bean and corn salad sounds good too!


Leave a Reply

