Weekly Challenge – July 16

Half of July has just gotten away from me.

It’s time once again to pick a new Weekly Challenge.

But first . . . how did I do last week, you ask?

Or maybe you didn’t, but I’ll tell you anyway . . .

I have some blocks to show you.

These first two are from my Farmer’s Wife Sampler quilt. I now have 14 blocks completed. A long way to go, and I’m far behind where I wanted to be.

This last one is from my Civil War Diary quilt, the first and only block I have finished.

There was no progress on the Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler blocks. 

And that’s enough of that for a couple weeks. I wouldn’t want to get all caught up and then have my head swell, now would I?

So it’s on to something else for next week, naturally. And what did I choose?

I chose this, my QQB Pinwheel Challenge quilt. This is my preliminary layout.

I’m not in love with this layout. I’d probably be happier with a darker setting, but that’s what fabric I had, and I was gonna use it even if it hairlipped me. So light is what I went with. I’m sure I’ll like it a bit better when I get it all set together. I can see one block that’s just gonna have to move to another position — it’s really bugging me. Those really pale blocks in the setting have sayings about friendship on them. My best friend gave me that piece of fabric, and since this challenge was offered up by her, I wanted to use it in this quilt. It will have an outer border of a darker fabric, so maybe that will make me like it more. We’ll see — hopefully by next week.

What will YOU be doing this week?

Published in: on July 16, 2010 at 2:37 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/weekly-challenge-july-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great quilt! I agree with you about moving the lighter one. But I think the friendship sayings are wonderful. And I can’t wait to see it finished.

  2. Maybe two borders–a narrow light one and a wider dark one? Just an idea. And, it would give the overall quilt more unity and contrast at the same time.

    Deanna.

  3. Love, love, love that red and black block! Whooey!

  4. I am reading your posts in reverse order to catch up a little. I like the new setting you are working on with these blocks. I agree with you that this one is okay, but I like what you are working on better (from what I’ve seen). 🙂


Leave a Reply

