Friday Night Sew-In

It’s time for the next Friday Night Sew-In!

This coming Friday, July 23 . . .

Over at Heidi’s blog.

I’m in . . .

I’ve missed a couple, but it’s time for me to jump in again, because I need to devote an entire evening to getting some things done.

I have no idea at this moment what things those might be, because even if I decide right now, I’ll probably change my mind.

You know how it is . . .

You pick up something to work on it, and see something else laying there, and think: “Oh, I’ll just finish that real quick first and have it out of the way.”

Before you can get it all the way done, you’ve picked a new Leader/Ender project because the one you were using is just so boring.

While choosing the new Leader/Ender project, you discover another project that “just needs a few more pieces cut” before it will be ready to work on, so you take the time to do that.

Then you’re so inspired and like it so much, you decide to start sewing a little “just to see what it’s going to look like”.

After making 6 blocks, you need to see how it’s going to look set together, so you want to put them up on the design wall. 

However, the design wall has some other blocks already on it, so you have to set those together so you can get them down off the wall and make room for the new project. 

Now you’ve got the blocks from the wall all set together, and realize you can’t find the borders. While looking for the borders that you think you might have already cut, you come across some orphan blocks you wanted to add to your latest scrap quilt, and drag out the bins to get some more scraps to go with them, so you can continue on with that project. You add the other quilt to the “Quilts That Still Need Borders” pile.

Realizing what a mess your scrap bins are in, you decide to do a little “organizing” of the stash, so you start cutting random shapes to put into your pre-cut bins, and sorting fabrics by color. Now you have piles everywhere, it’s midnight, your back is killing you, and you haven’t even touched the original project you set out to work on at the beginning of the Sew-In.

Or is that just me?

Published in: on July 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/friday-night-sew-in-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL! Ever heard of the children’s book “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie…”?

  2. I thought the same thing, only in my head I thought, “If you give a quilter a project….” You could so write a little fun gift book for quilters with that. I know I would buy it.

  3. Hahaha! You just told story!! This is how my days go,(but I love it)
    🙂

    happy sewing Shelly!!

  4. […] out, and try to give myself some breathing room. Of course, it’ll probably end up going like THIS, but at least I’m willing to keep trying. Isn’t that half the […]


Leave a Reply

