Picking Back Up

Well, that was a little absentee spell I hadn’t predicted! I had to travel unexpectedly, and I just wasn’t ready. Furthermore, everywhere I went, I couldn’t get internet access, and most of the time, my cell phone wouldn’t even get any signal. Isn’t it terrible to be so dependent on technology? By the time I got home, I felt so out of touch . . . 

But I’m glad to be back, and I’ll try to catch up on a few things around here. I’m just leaving my Weekly Challenge alone, and letting the last one be for two weeks. I’ll pick another one next Friday. I can’t even remember what the last one was. Does a disruption of your normal schedule leave you feeling a little discombobulated like it does me? Not that I’m not normally a little discombobulated anyway, but I don’t deal well with sudden changes to my normally hectic life. I should practice being a bit more spontaneous in my old age.

I also said I’d show you what the QQB was up to after our last get-together, and I’m late with that, but here we go. As usual, Katy and I had nothing to show, but Marge and Rose Marie have been busy. Can you tell which of our group members are retired, and which aren’t? Yeah, me too.

They both have their pinwheel quilts finished. Here they are together. Aren’t they lovely? Marge’s is the green one at bottom, and Rose Marie’s is the brown one on top. Sorry the picture is a bit blurry. I have been toying with my camera settings, and I so obviously have no idea what I’m doing!

Marge also finished this darling little Paper Dolls quilt from a kit she bought from Keepsake Quilting.

And Rose Marie is speeding right along on her 8 Christmas quilts. This is the red and white baskets quilt all quilted. It was quilted by a fellow guild member of ours, Joan Harrison, and it is wonderful. You can’t tell in the picture, but there are flowers quilted in each basket, and they’re spilling over the edge of the basket and down the front. They’re each one different.

This one is for her granddaughter Makenzie. The fabric looks wintery and snowy. I love how old-fashioned this one looks.

This one is for her grandson, Charles. Simple, but boyish, and still Christmasy.

This one is for Patrick, her son. A star . . .

She’s been busy, I tell you. 

And that is all the show & tell from last QQB. We’ll meet again in September. I can’t remember the date . . . I’m discombobulated.

As for my list, I didn’t get done any of the three things I said I would, but I DID work on all three. Apparently, just not enough. And in my spell of lucidity, where I’ve been picking only ONE thing to put on my lists, I did the same with my new “Things I Have No Intention Of Doing Anytime Soon” list. My one thing: Finish my Patriotic Challenge quilt. The unveiling is August 18th. I don’t have much time left.

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 10:47 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/picking-back-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know what you mean about being technology dependent. When I am traveling without internet access and no cell phone signal, I get really frustrated and crazy. I think part of it is that everyone’s put everything on the web, so to access just about anything, you need web access. To save money, I have lived without internet access at home for the last year. It has been really hard. My husband moved back home after working in Texas for a year (where he had free internet access at home), and it has driven him absolutely nuts not to have internet. They are coming out today to hook up internet…we couldn’t take it any more! To make it worse, I feel like our new house is in a black hole…no cable (so no cable internet), the phone company won’t provide DSL, etc. So, we had to go with HughesNet (satellite internet). It has been such an ordeal to figure out, it has been crazy! I think it will be worth it.

    Great photos. Your guild is very prolific!

  2. Love the photos. I have thought about a paper doll quilt for my little granddaughter, or just fusing a stabilizer to the back of the paper doll fabrics and making paper dolls from them.
    I also empathize about the lack of availability of technology — I got that bad “Anti-Vir Pro” virus last week, and had to do without my laptop while the virus was being removed. I kept telling myself at least it wasn’t a REAL virus — I mean, no one in the family was sick, so it wasn’t so bad!


Leave a Reply

