The Crayon Challenge

Our guild is doing a Crayon Challenge.

At our last meeting, we drew our crayons.

I wanted something with an exotic name, such as Macaroni & Cheese, Piggy Pink, or Sunset Orange.

I got “Blue”.My best friend got “Purple Pizzazz”.

Some of you did your best to console me the other day when I was lamenting my fate.

And I have some ideas for what I’ll be doing.

At least I like blue.

I’ve been gathering fabrics.

My best friend has been trying to give me blue fabrics.

I think it’s out of guilt because she came over and raided my stash for fabrics that matched her own crayon.

It can’t be because she thinks I have a shortage of fabric.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

What do you think?

Published in: on September 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/the-crayon-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those are all great blue fabrics! Are you making a quilt or a wallhanging or potholders – in other words, are there any rules?

  2. Those are great blues especially when you compare to the place that you colored with your crayon. Good Job. I started buying Blacks this past weekend and they seem to be matching well also!!!!

  3. works for me.

  4. Well, you could call your quilt…. “The Singing Sewing Machine Blues”….

    Or…. “This Quilter’s Got the Blues”….

    Good luck! Oh… one thing someone once mentioned that if you’re making a complete blue quilt, you’ve got to somehow or somewhere add some tint or hint of “green” to give your quilt some “zing”.

    Keep us posted – We LOVE to watch your progress! *grin*

    Rosa

  5. Looks good so far. I’d add in some darker and lighter blues as most of these are of meduim value, and it’s value that does all the work in a project. I just finished a scrappy blue quilt for my nephew and it turned out really nice. It was the first blue quilt I’ve made. Have fun with your challenge.

  6. That seems like a nice array of blues. Darks, mediums, lights. I like the Spanish word (?)–azul That sounds a little more exciting! Will it be monochromatic, or can you introduce other colors, too? It would be hard for me to work monochromatic, as I have never done it before…

  7. Oooohhhh! Fun! What are the other rules? Can you add any other color? How big is it going to be? I think you should also play on the word “blues” somehow, as in jazz or the blues….

    I’m like you though, some color with a cooler name would have been nice!


Leave a Reply

