October QQB Report

The QQB met last week at Marge’s house. I’ve waited a few days to post so that my niece wouldn’t accidentally see her baby shower gift ahead of time. But now that’s over, and she has it, so I’m safe in showing you our show and tell . . .

Marge served some sort of baked chicken with a sauce made of Western dressing and something else, over rice, and it was absolutely delicious. I can’t remember what the dessert was, but it had whipped cream all over the top, so to me, what was underneath didn’t even matter.

So on with the show . . .

Marge showed her “Arizona Pots Quilt”, now that it’s all done but the binding. She and her husband, Allen, will take this quilt to Arizona with them this winter and use it. She bought the fabric for it when they were out there last year. She used the pattern, BQ, by Debbie Bowles of Maple Island Quilts. It’s a great pattern to use when you want to showcase large chunks of a great print.Rose Marie showed Katy’s things for her, so Katy didn’t have to get out of her chair. We ARE all Queens, after all! This is Katy’s Skinny Verna table runner. We’re all making one of these, and as usual, I’m the only one not finished. I showed you Marge’s last time. You can find the pattern for it here: Skinny Verna on Moda Bake Shop. It’s by Vickie Eapen of Spun Sugar Quilts.And here is the piece I couldn’t show you earlier. It’s a baby quilt Katy made for her very first grandson, Max. He’s due in November. Personally, I’m just glad she made it to being a grandma before I did. Makes me feel younger. This quilt is the most adorable thing. It’s called “Dancin’ in the Moonlight”. I just wish you could see all the little animals up closer. Heaven forbid I would have taken any close-up pictures of it to show you. And I had it in my possession for quite awhile, because I’m the one who quilted it for her. Sometimes I astound myself. Anyway, you can get the book here: Critters Dancin’ in the Moonlight. It’s by Linda Hohag of Brandywine Design. She has several other Critters books, too, even a Christmas one, and they’re all just as adorable. Here’s Cassidy showing the quilt after she opened the gift at her shower last weekend. She said: “Oh, Mom, you make me cry!”Rose Marie has finished all 8 of her Christmas quilts, and I’m going to post all of them together later this week. I’m so proud of her for this accomplishment, I think they should all be shown together. But here’s her final one shown by itself for now (I can’t remember the name of the pattern, but I’ll ask her and let you know.)She also made a pillowcase to go with the Christmas quilt she made for her grandson.And she’s almost got her Cowboy Blessing mini-quilt all finished. That woman stays busy, I tell you!And although we’ve all seen it before, we asked Marge to get her Floral Delight quilt out so that we could all ooh and aah over it again. This is from a pattern by Lori Smith, and you can get it here if you so desire: From My Heart to Your Hands.I showed them my Kansas Troubles Spool Quilt, since they hadn’t seen it live and in person, and I also showed them this year’s Cowboy Christmas Stocking up close and personal.

And that is the QQB Recap for October. We meet again November 9. Don’t even ask me about my QQB ToDo List . . .

Published in: on October 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/october-qqb-report/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Looks like another fun meeting. The floral delight is amazing!


Leave a Reply

