Lately . . .

I’ve been busier than a one-armed paper hanger . . .

I’ve been to my niece’s baby shower. Here she is with her mother (my sister) at the shower. Aren’t they adorable?I went to a hayride/cookout at my niece’s house. It was dark. I took no pictures. I ate more than my fair share of hotdogs, and managed to swindle others into cooking them all for me so that I didn’t have to.

I worked at the quilt shop on the night that town had Moonlight Madness, and trick-or-treaters came to all the local businesses. Here’s the owner’s granddaughter, who stopped by to get some candy and let Grandma see her costume.Then I took my sister to another quilt shop with me, and on the way back, my Jimmy broke down and left us sitting at the side of the road. Luckily, it was on the way back, so while we waited on our hero, Gary, to arrive with the tow truck, we sat and sniffed all our fabric, and looked through our books and other goodies.

Then I went to my daughter’s for Halloween day, and we baked sugar cookies, played with her friend’s baby who is just learning to crawl, got lots of trick-or-treaters (even ran out of candy once), and laughed at her poodles, dressed in their costumes. You’d have laughed, too. In fact, why don’t you just look at them and go ahead and do that right now? Genevieve was dressed as a cow, and Brooklyn was a Pirate of the Caribbean. Genevieve didn’t like wearing the cow hoodie . . . Can’t say as I blame her — how’s a girl supposed to keep her hairdo looking nice with a hood on?A cowboy and an Indian stopped by on their tandem bike that was decorated like a pony. They’re the ones who rescued us when we ran out of candy — they brought more!And there was some pumpkin carving going on . . .I thought the Little Mermaid pumpkin was pretty darn good!I made this: Grandma’s Macaroni and Cheese. And I DID eat the entire pan of it all by myself.

And I made this: Tres Leches Cake. And I’m not sure I’ll ever buy Cool Whip again after making the whipped topping for this. I could have eaten that all by itself straight out of the mixing bowl.

I got goodies in the mail. Scraps and strings from Jocelyn . . .I got goodies in person. Scraps and strings from fellow guild members . . .And I got a goodie by winning a door prize at our Community Service Work Day . . .And then I went to Houston . . . and I’m still recuperating.

And there’s no Procrastination Challenge Update today because I still don’t have my sewing machine back. I feel like I’m missing an appendage . . .

Published in: on November 9, 2010 at 11:13 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/lately/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Gracious! I gained five pounds just reading the recipe for Grandma’s Macaroni & Cheese! You have been living in a whirlwind, haven’t you?!? At least you’re into lots of fun things. Will this be your first time being a Great Aunt? Congrats to you all! 🙂

  2. woo-hoo glad you received the strings. Hope it will help you with your project.

  3. I don’t think you would have had much time to sew lately, but I know what you mean about not having your sewing machine. Things are just not right without that machine sitting in your sewing room and waiting for you.

  4. Wow! Sounds busy! Genevieve looks seriously pissed off in that picture! haha! Congrats on your door prize. Glad you liked the Mac and Cheese recipe! It’s my fave! You have really been going at it lately! Love it.


Leave a Reply

