It’s Sew Sweet

Sew Sweet Quilt Shop in Brunswick, MO, that is . . .

Talk about doin’ it up right!

If you EVER get a chance to get to this shop, you would be doing yourself a great disservice if you did not stop in.

Could you even still call yourself a quilter if you passed it by?

I think not!

They have so much wonderful stuff in the store, I just become a total idiot when I’m in there. I pack bolts around, leave them in places I can’t seem to find them again, stop to look at books and patterns, forget where I put my purse, forget where I put the pile of goodies I wanted to buy, forget what time it is or how long I’ve been there . . . and then purposely ignore how much I spend!

The owners, Jeanette, and her daughter, Jessica, are “sew sweet”, and they have a whole crew of helpful assistants, and they ALL know how to convince you that yes, indeed, you DO need that, and how about this to go with it?

I cherish any excuse to go there, because it really isn’t that close to me, so it warrants some creative driving. (Oh, did I miss my turn? Well, darn, I’ll just swing through Brunswick to get back on track.)

My latest excuse was the most welcome yet. Jeanette invited me down to do a trunk show during their monthly Saturday Sampler session. I got to see all the new stuff they brought home from Market, and lots of show and tell from the attendees, things they’ve worked on in classes they’ve taken, etc. They put on quite a show — they were a hard act to follow!

As usual, I sat there with my camera in my hand and my mouth hanging open, and didn’t take a single picture. But Jessica was busy snapping away, and she posted all the pictures on the Sew Sweet Blog, so if you’re interested, you can click here to see what I showed and see all of their show and tell as well: Saturday Sampler at Sew Sweet.

On the home page of the store itself, you can see pictures of the inside of the shop: Sew Sweet Quilt Shop. You know you’ll wanna go once you look . . .

And here’s the loot I came away with this time. It’s the Maison de Garance collection by French General for Moda. I can’t wait to make something yummy . . .

Published in: on November 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/its-sew-sweet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Mmmmm…that fabric is awesome. I saw that Anne Sutton’s new line Lily and Wil has a great chocolate brown silk or taffeta ruffle trim you can buy. It would look great with this! If I’m ever in MO, I’ll have to stop at that store (after coming to meet you!). Thanks for the recommend!

  2. For those of you making the trip to Sew Sweet be sure to drive east to Salisbury to visit my favorite quilt shop, Sew Creative! It’s been there for close to 20 years and is the most amazing shop. It doesn’t have hardwood floors or an elevator, but it will be worth your trip. There is a great selection of fabric, patterns, and samples to inspire. Donna is a former FACS (Family and Consumer Science) teacher. She is a skilled quilter and has a vast knowledge of fabric and sewing. Sew Creative is my home away from home!

    • I did mean to mention that, but got too longwinded . . . YES! Sew Creative is just east of Brunswick in the town of Salisbury, and Donna has a great selection of fabrics. When I’m not in a toot of a hurry like I was the other day, I hit both shops at the same time, and it makes the drive even more worth it. My sister is usually along, too, and we love both shops!


Leave a Reply

