Where I’ve Been, Part 2

I was gone so long this time, I got all sorts of inquiries as to my whereabouts.

Where was I?

Well, I was back at the hospital seeing that baby one more time, then I took off with my sister to Chicago. Her son, my nephew, Tucker, was graduating from Navy Basic Training, and it was our first chance to get to see him since he left in October. I wasn’t about to miss it. We went with Tucker’s dad and stepmom, Vynai. Have I mentioned how much I love road trips? My cousin maintains I should have been a truck driver!

I had never been to anything like this. I thought the whole thing was pretty neat. So formal. If I had been participating, I’d have constantly been in the wrong spot or doing the wrong thing at the wrong time. I don’t know how they keep it all together and so coordinated. We saw the Navy Band perform . . .. . . then watched the Flag Corps . . . . . . then the divisions came marching in one at a time . . .Here’s Tucker’s division all lined up:After he was released, we got to keep him for the weekend. We took him to Joe’s Crab Shack. What a blast! I can’t believe I haven’t gone to one before, but I’ll definitely be going back again. The waitresses all break out and dance every so often, and customers can even join right in if they wish. These 3 guys got up and cut the rug to YMCA by the Village People. What a hoot!Our waitress was hysterically funny. After asking Vynai if she’d ever had her snapper stuffed, and accusing Tucker of textual activity at the dinner table, she came along with these hats for us to wear.When she brought out our bibs a bit later, she had written the name of a celebrity on each one, and we were not allowed to look at our own bib, but were instructed to try to guess who we were by asking questions of the others around the table. I was Lindsay Lohan (!!!), Tucker was Flava Flav, Katy was Monica Lewinski, Vynai was Lady GaGa, and Jeff was Justin Bieber. Katy was the first to guess who she was, and Jeff would have never gotten it. We had to tell him, because he had never even heard of Justin Bieber! We laughed till we were nearly sick. And of course, ate the entire time. The crab legs were delicious! I can’t wait to get to a Joe’s again . . .

The next day, we went to Navy Pier. Winter Wonderland was going on, and appropriately enough, it snowed about 5 inches, and kept on snowing all day, but that didn’t stop us from having fun. We shopped awhile for souvenirs, and then we rode the big Ferris Wheel. It’s supposedly the second highest ferris wheel in the world. Oddly enough, while you’re up in it, it doesn’t seem as high as it looks from the ground. Had it been a clear day, we could have seen a lot more of Chicago, but oh, well. That just makes me want to go ride it again sometime. Here’s looking into the middle of the ferris wheel as you’re coming down the back side. That’s a lot of metal, folks!We had to turn Tucker back over to the Navy before we could head home, but it wasn’t too sad, because he’s going to get to come home for Christmas. It’ll be his first chance to get to see his new nephew, Max.

And now I have the flu, so you know where I’ll be for the next couple days. I done did myself in with all my galavanting!

Published in: on December 8, 2010 at 9:17 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/12/08/where-ive-been-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad to hear you’re back, and alive even if you are all flu-filled. I’ve managed to have a stomach bug and a cold in the last 2 weeks, so while I didn’t have the flu, I might as well have. I have found that being sick is an excellent time to work on hand-sewing, especially if it’s hand quilting or hand-sewing binding – that way you can cuddle up under what you’re working on and be productive instead of cuddling up under some random blanket and doing nothing. Get better soon!

  2. What fun! Hope your feeling better soon and we can see what you’re working on.

  3. As I said, I missed you. I hope you feel better soon. Sounds like a great trip. I love road trips, too. For some reason they are so much more relaxing than plane trips. I like sitting in the car with nothing to do for long periods of time!

  4. Yikes! Flu! I hope I have not been exposed after being with you guys on Tuesday evening. I knew something was wrong when we didn’t hear from you yesterday. Get well, soon.
    BFF Rose Marie

  5. Glad all is well. Hope we didn’t hound you too much, but hoping too that you feel loved because of it! Tell Tucker congratulations and thank you! My son just returned from Amarillo where he was sworn into the Marines. This is all new to me, but I’m so proud of him. Hope the flu bug flies away soon, but in the meantime, get some rest.

  6. I have missed you, but what a wonderful time you all had and to spend time with Tucker! Ah, the military is all about being at the right spot at the right time – one of those things they spend a LOT of time training or else you or one of your buddies might end up hurt. You all should be so proud of Tucker!

    I was on the floor laughing about Joe’s Crab Shack – I have never been and now I want to go….wonder if we have any around here…..LOL

    I hope you feel better soon! No fun being down with the flu!


Leave a Reply

