Final PC Update

My final Procrastination Challenge update for this year. And I actually got the project finished!

I also managed to add $38 to my fund because I finished early. Finally!

And here it is, my Patriotic Challenge quilt:

This was made from a pattern by Gerry Kimmel Carr of Red Wagon Quilts. It’s in the book “Homefront”, and the pattern is named “September”.

I saw this quilt in a booth at the AQS Show in Paducah one year, and wanted to make it, so I bought the book, and naturally, only just got around to it this year when my guild offered a patriotic challenge to the members.

I used to think I didn’t like to make Log Cabin blocks, but this quilt was actually quite fun to piece. I made it entirely from my stash, too, which is a plus in my book. I’m exceptionally glad that it’s completely finished. It will hang in our local quilt show next June. This makes Finish #41 for me for this year. I have a couple days left to finish those other 59 things!

I’m not sure what challenges I’ll be offering to myself next year, so stay tuned, and I’ll let you know. I may combine this one with the Weekly Challenge and make some new rules. I get bored doing the same thing all the time . . . I’m open to suggestions . . .

Published in: on December 28, 2010 at 8:05 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/final-pc-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations on sew-many-finishes. I’ve noticed my list for this year is much shorter than the list from last year — looking forward to seeing what I can accomplish in 2012.

  2. I was excited that I got 12 items finished. You have now inspired me to see if I can do 2 a month so I have 24 finished items next year. Thanks and congratulations on all the items you finished. What an accomplishment!

  3. That quilt is breathtaking! I love the log cabin blocks on point to make the stripes! I love it!

  4. I’m very impressed. The quilt is beautiful.

  5. Shelly, What an awesome quilt! I can see why it would take a while to do. Congratulations on your finishes for the year. I am going to keep track this coming year. Might be interesting to see and an incentive too.

  6. Wow, wow, wow! It is JUST AWESOME!!! I love anything Americana and patriotic. This is one of the most beautiful American flag quilts I have seen. Thanks for giving us the details on the pattern. You are amazing for finishing 41 things this year. I’m going to try to keep track next year. Well done. Love it.

  7. What a great way to end the year! I adore that quilt and all that it stands for!


Leave a Reply

