A Sweet Give-Away

I blabbed around the end of the year about a commission quilt I had been procrastinating on and needed to finish by January 10th . . . remember that?

Well, I started work on it on New Year’s Eve, and I did manage to finish it in time, and promised to show you pictures of it when it was done . . . so here I am to do just that.

The Ronald McDonald House Charities of Mid-Missouri hosts a large fund-raising event each year to raise money for the work they do: “Provide a home-away-from home for families of children receiving treatment at area health-care facilities and to lift children and families to a better tomorrow.”

While they engage in fund-raising efforts year-round, their annual Gala is their highlight. In 2009, I was commissioned to provide a quilt with a “bee” theme for them to use as a raffle item at their Spelling Bee. You can see that quilt here: Bee Happy. The pattern for that quilt is one of the 6 projects in my “Bees, Blooms, & Butterflies” pattern packet, and you can purchase it from My Etsy Shop, if you’re interested.

Last fall, I was once again contacted by RMHC, asking if I’d like to donate something for the auction at this year’s Gala event. I contacted them back, and asked if they’d once again like a quilt. Of course they did! Their theme for this year’s Gala is “A Sweet Adventure”, with a Candyland sort of flair. Carissa sent me a rough draft of their announcement to give me some idea of what they wanted, and I took off from there with my design.

And here’s what I came up with:

The quilt is very simple. I used fusible applique to attach everything, and secured it all with a machine blanket stitch. It measures 52″ x 65″, and is obviously very quick to make! It was a blast to work with all these bright colors smack in the middle of winter. My Cowboy helped pick some of the colors for the flowers. Even when I didn’t agree, he wouldn’t let me change any of them, so it is the way it is, and I do like it (but don’t tell him that — his head’ll get too big to fit in his cowboy hat).

I quilted it with an all-over fill pattern of little flowers on the white background, with a small stipple on the green part of the background. I outlined all the applique shapes and filled in the middle of the flowers with some swirls. I used black binding to act as a frame for the entire piece.

This is my first finished project for 2011 — woohoo! Only 99 more to go . . .

If you’re interested in making a “Sweet” quilt for yourself (or someone you know), the pattern is for sale in My Etsy Shop. It comes with full-sized applique patterns, already reversed for use with fusible webbing, and complete instructions. Sweet, huh?

But right now, as is usually the case when I debut a new pattern, I’m having a give-away. If you’d like a chance to win a free copy of this pattern, just leave a comment, and I’ll draw 3 winners on January 20. Each winner will receive a copy of the pattern. Does it get any sweeter?

Published in: on January 13, 2011 at 3:03 pm  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/a-sweet-give-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awww! It’s really cute, Shelly! And you really whipped it up quickly! I’m so impressed! Well done. You are such a good person for helping them out year after year!

  2. You are just TOO SWEET, yourself… with all these give-a-ways!!!

    One of these days I’ll surprise you with a no-special-occasion-gift…. and NO, it won’t be fabric! LOL

    Please add my add to your SWEET FLOWER contest?

    Tks!

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, New Brunswick
    Canada

  3. Your quilt is beautiful!! I love it! I can’t believe you only started it New Year’s Eve and are done already! I wish I was that focused!! I also thinks it is perfectly suited to a Candyland theme!

  4. I would love to have this pattern. Super cute and perfect for my little granddaughter 🙂

  5. Cute pattern! Please throw my hat into the ring for a chance to win your new pattern. Thanks!

  6. You know Shelly, this is one cute pattern. I love the fresh sweet flowers. Great job!

  7. My goodness, you are on a roll Girl! What a darling design and how wonderful that RMHC commissioned you to make one! Smart them…talented you! I love that your cowboy made some of those color choices…he did a good job, but we’ll keep that under our hat so that his hat will continue to fit!

  8. Shelly, what a great job and for such a special cause. You can come up with the coolest ideas. Keep ’em coming.

  9. It can’t get any cuter then that! Love those adorable pudgy birds!!! Thank you for the chance and really? how cool are you to do this for such a great organization. You do good work (and I don’t mean just quilt-y either).

  10. I would love to make this quilt. I love anything wiht flowers and this one is gorgeous!
    Micki

  11. Love it. Very Cute.

  12. Wow, that was fast! Adorable quilt and for such a great cause. Someday, when I get better at this quilting thing, I hope to do the same for charities. It must give you such a great feeling. Great job!


Leave a Reply

