The Idea File

I don’t know . . .

But I suspect . . .

Many of you are just like me . . .

And you have way many more ideas in your head than you can actually carry out all at once.

Am I right?

You see things you like, things that inspire you, things that remind you of something. You’ll even wake up in the night with an idea and need to sketch it out.

Well, me, too, and I wanted a place to keep all these little “prompts”, so I can go back and look at them anytime and keep getting inspired and reminded.

So I put together a notebook.

I call it my Idea File.

You realize the initials for Idea File are IF?

Well, this is my IF notebook. IF I ever get the time, or IF I ever get the notion, or IF I ever need a dose of inspiration, this is my book to flip through.

(My Cowboy says IF is the biggest word in the dictionary.)

It’s full of pretty much what you see here:

Plus . . .

Clippings, pages, and ads from magazines, impromptu sketches, pieces of wrapping paper, labels, lists of words, quotes or phrases, photos, candy wrappers, color swatches, fabric swatches, pieces of thread, tissue paper, lists of projects I’d like to make someday, just anything and everything scattered everywhere among the pages just willy-nilly.

There’s no real organization to it, although since it’s looseleaf pages, I can add anything in anywhere anytime.

Plus, I also have this folder where I throw stuff I like but haven’t had time to deal with yet. During one of my “sessions”, I’ll dig through the folder and add more pages to the notebook.

I also have a box full of other goodies I can pull out and paste in. Pieces of raffia and ribbon, stickers, pretty paper, charms, buttons, etc.

Of course, I also have my sketchbook, two of them actually, and another bound book where I make list after list and sketch after sketch. I just use whichever one I’m in the mood to use when I’m in the mood to doodle. And that’s how it’s easy for me to keep doing it. No real structure — just draw, doodle, or sketch when the mood strikes, in whichever book or medium I feel like using. It’s a work in progress, and it always will be.

Do YOU have an Idea File?

Published in: on March 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/03/04/the-idea-file/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I dont have an Idea File but after reading your post i really want to start one! very inspiring 🙂

  2. I did this when we were planning to build our house, but I haven’t done it for quilts or for needlework. It’s a great idea!

  3. I do have an IF and use it regularly.

  4. Nope.

    It’s in my head and, if it’s persistent enough and good enough, then it crawls into my “soul” and I do it!

    Otherwise, it’s just a thought or a “Hmmm… someday, I should do that.” And it never gets done ’cause I only have so many hours in a day.

    I used to have an “IF”… And one day, I went through it, shook my head and said, “Rosa – you’re NEVER gonna do these things and besides, you’re not in LOVE with these projects anymore, either!” They had become outdated, in my “soul”, if you know what I mean. *s*

    Sooooo, these days, if the idea sticks around long enough, then YES, I do “it”!

    That’s how I work things out. *VBG*

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, New Brunswick
    Canada

  5. Sorta…some of it’s in my head. Some is in my sketchbook. Some is laying around the house. Some is in a list I keep in a book by my bed. I used to have a good IF file, but with moving, it had to get culled (because the IFs never came to pass…). I love your IF metaphor with it. Just great. I aspire to be as organized as you are about it! I think I’m a lot like Rosa…if it sticks long enough to remember it, then I actually do it! (Usually) haha!

  6. i love it–the IF file..i have more ideas than i will ever use in my lifetime….i have a hanging file with all the pix and ideas i come across…i have a notebook that has graph paper on the back of each sheet that i write ideas in and also then graph the pattern….i also have a stash to rival any fabric store..this is the year i will not buy any fabric–unless i need backing for a quilt—i have boxes of fabric ‘collections’ i call them..good color combinations–and i don;t hesitate to ‘borrow’ out of any of them to make a quilt..but i also –woe is me–have boxes with the fabric, pattern and a sample block i’ve made up for a quilt i just love..my aim this year is to make up 4 of these..you notice i didn;t make that a resolution…LOL..but isn;t this a fun hobby?? a fun life we have????


Leave a Reply

