LIVE2011 March Update

Whew! That was a short month! It’s already time for a LIVE2011 update again.

I can hardly believe it my ownself that I’ve actually been continuing to make progress.

Here’s my current status:

1. Faithfully keep a daily diary

Still haven’t missed a day. It’s been surprisingly easy. And, I find that on most days I could even write more than the little space allows.

2. Finish 100 (quilting or sewing-related) projects this year

I’m up to FOUR now. Still doesn’t bode well for 100 for the year, but I’m hoping to speed things up.

3. Get my studio whipped into shape (be more organized)

Other than dealing with some scraps, and getting a lot of customer quilts finished and out of here, I haven’t really made any more progress on the studio itself. However, I have another room in the house that still had lots of my quilting stuff in it from before I moved into the studio, and I sorted through a lot of that, so I’m counting that as my progress. And, I cleaned out the file cabinets, and sorted through lots of papers, which doesn’t really show, but does help with the getting organized part.

4. Make major improvements to the ranch shack

The pantry is moving forward. I blogged about that here: Pantry, Step Two. Once I get the pantry filled up with things that are currently residing elsewhere in my kitchen, I hope to do more to the kitchen, but we’ll see. There’s also a few things I’d like to do to the laundry portion of the bathroom area. Hard telling what urge will hit me.

5. Ride my horse more

I have been riding again. The weather we’ve had is not the best for doing lots of riding, so I’m not too worried. The fact that I’ve been riding again at all has even me amazed. I’m sure I’ll do more in the warmer months. Don’t tell Bonnie . . . I’m sure she was hoping that she was retired.

6. Pay more attention to my health

I’ve successfully weaned myself off sugar. I react very poorly to eating too much sugar, and thought it was high time I gave it up again. So I’m avoiding anything containing sugar or white flour; and let me tell you how much my energy level has picked up just in the 2 weeks since I’ve begun this little program. The first week of such a deal is always the hardest, but it’s also when my willpower is the highest. Now with that out of the way, I’m feeling much better, and once you get sugar out of your system, you no longer crave it, so it’s easy from here on out. I can’t even name all the symptoms I had previously that I already don’t have any more, lack of energy being a big one.

I still haven’t worked up the gumption to start an exercise program, but I’m hoping I can talk myself into that real soon.

7. Establish some routines (personal and work-related)

I reworked my work schedule, and although I still try to cram too much into any given day, I’m doing much better about following it. I may have hit on the proper combination of tasks and timing that works for me. We’ll see. I’m sure more tweaking will have to be done. Probably forever, since I won’t be able to leave it alone!

As for my personal schedule, I’ve been getting up at the same time every day, and earlier than I used to by at least a half an hour. I had to enlist My Cowboy’s help for this one. “Do NOT let me go back to sleep after the clock rings!” He loves helping with that, because it’s one more form of torture he can inflict on me. I constantly tell him how much I pity his sister, because he would have been the most aggravating little brother in the history of the world. He has the torture thing down pat!

8. Decrease my fabric stash

I’m still winning this game. See the reports here: Stash Tales.

9. Decrease my number of UFOs

Obviously, the number has gone down by two. I hope to make it go down even more by the next report.

10. Get back to work on competition quilting

Ugh! I still haven’t thought about this one any further. It’s been two months, so I really need to get crackin’ before too much more of the year gets away from me.

11. Cultivate my creativity

I’ve been working on my sketchbook and my Idea File, and taking pictures and playing with fabric and trying to notice things around me. I’ve also been reading . . . It’s all a good shot in the arm for getting something done when you do spend time in the studio.

And there you have it. Tune in next month for another update.

Published in: on March 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/03/05/live2011-march-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shelly, I have given up sugar and flour also since Christmas, and I agree with you. Congratulations on your 2011 accomplishments! Also, I’ve received the crazy quilt kit, and it looks like so much fun!

  2. Your goals are looking great! The journaling is particularly admirable. Your mother is smiling, for sure.

  3. Congrats on getting off of sugar. I got off of sugar and all refined flour products in November of 2009. I have lost 2 dress sizes since that time. Keep it up 🙂

  4. Sounds like you are doing great, Shelly! Keep up the great work!

  5. Way to go on your goals! Holy cow, off sugar and white flour? That is wonderful! My workouts seem to have petered out…but I have to get back at it.

    I admire your will power and your stick-to-it-tiveness (is that a word?!).

    Keep it up!

    Bari


Leave a Reply

