News From the Ranch, Episode 644

• Last week, I quilted this quilt:It belongs to a lady who doesn’t actually quilt. She purchased the top at an antique store or flea market, and it was in great shape. Has a few stains, but the whole thing is too beautiful to worry about those. It’s CROSS-STITCHED! All in red floss. Gorgeous. It’s one of those pre-stamped tops, and it came in long panels. Each panel was cross-stitched, then the panels were set together. The quilting design was also already marked on, which made it easier for me. However, the marked design was meant for hand quilting, so that meant LOTS of starts and stops and tying of knots for me. It took me several days to finish it, but I think it’s one of the most beautiful quilts I’ve had the pleasure of working on.

She also wanted me to bind it, so I chose a solid red to match the floss, since I knew I’d never find a new white that would match that “old” white. She was very happy with it, and so was I.

• Yesterday, My Cowboy took me for a romantical drive. We needed to go to the feed store. Romantical for sure, huh? Truthfully, I did need to get out of the house and “blow the stink off”, as my best friend’s husband always says. It’s been raining here, I’ve been cold all week, and I needed some fresh air. So I rode along, and I had a good time.

When we got to the feed store, another truck pulled in beside us, and these were in the back. They were terribly curious and awesomely well-behaved, and oh, so cute!

• If you missed the announcement previously, the Prairie Moon Quilts Necktie Social is sponsoring a Crazy Quilt Block Contest. You should enter. There will be prizes. Read about it HERE.

• Today, I made a Chiffon pie. You can find the recipe for that here: Chiffon Pie. It’s an old recipe of my mother’s, and it’s really yummy.

• This coming Saturday, March 12, our local Ben Franklin Craft Store in Macon, MO, is having an Open House. I’ll be there doing quilting demonstrations. If you’re close and happen to be in the area, stop by and see me!

• This week, I dabbled in a craft other than quilting. Just for a break and a bit of a change of pace after the quilt above . . .

I played with scrapbook paper. I love (and I hate) double-sided scrapbook paper. Both sides are so beautiful, I can never decide which side to use! It’s my own personal hell.

But, I was making a sign for my cousin for his kitchen:

I like it so much, I think I’m going to make another one for the ranch shack. My Cowboy and I are in discussions over what exactly ours should say.

• It’s not too late to get your nominations in for the 2011 Golden Quilter Awards sponsored by SewCalGal. Get over there and nominate someone! You still have until next Tuesday.

Published in: on March 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/news-from-the-ranch-episode-644/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. GORGEOUS QUILT AND QUILTING!!!!! I want that quilt…
    sigh.

    hey cowboy! Hey Cowgirl! 😉

  2. Beautiful quilt. It always amazes me how people find these treasures. I never have such good luck :/

  3. That quilt is fabulous! I used to cross stitch years and years ago and just started a new project for a Christmas gift for my inlaws. Haven’t cross stitched in 16 years. Forgot how much I enjoy it and how much time is invested.

  4. Love those pooches. That quilt is really amazing! I bet now that it’s quilted, the owner could gently wash it and get a lot of the stains out with Oxyclean.

    I got my tie kit today. Thanks so much! Got my hotel reservation and deposit done yesterday. I am so stoked!

  5. I’m cracking up because I thought I was the only one who had a love/hate thing going on with scrapbook paper. I honestly wish they would just print only one side and then charge less! Indecision is a bugger!


Leave a Reply

