It’s A Sign

Have you ever heard the Thin Lizzy song, “The Boys Are Back In Town”? Well, in that song, from way back in 1982, they mention Dino’s Bar & Grill. My cousin’s name is Deno. He’s a bachelor, loves to BBQ, and he does a lot of standing in his kitchen watching NASCAR on TV and drinking beer on the weekends. He also loves late 70s/early 80s music, so I made him this sign because it couldn’t be more appropriate for him:I thought I’d go into a little more detail on exactly how I made it. A tutorial, of sorts . . .

I wanted to make a framed sign, so first I went shopping for the frame. I found this great shadowbox frame on sale at the local craft store, so it was perfect.Then I picked a piece of scrapbooking paper to use for the background, and some other colors for the letters I wanted to put on the background (burgundy, brown, and dark green).

I picked some fonts that were on my computer that I thought would do, then I fit them into the 12″ x 12″ area I’d be working with, till they looked the way I wanted them to, then printed them out on plain paper from my printer. (I used InDesign for the layout part, but you could do it in several different applications.)Now I know there are special cutters that scrapbookers use, and there are probably easier ways of doing this part, but I’m not a scrapbooker, so I did this part the old-fashioned (read hard) way. I cut out each letter from the paper printout . . . . . . then I placed it upside down on the BACK side of the scrapbook paper, and traced around it with a marker that would show up.Then I cut them out of the scrapbook paper. Then I laid them all out on the background sheet like I wanted them to be . . .

. . . and used YES! Paste to glue them all down. I just painted the back side of each letter with the paste and pressed it into position on the background sheet.I use YES! Paste because it doesn’t wrinkle the paper, so everything stays neat and flat and smooth.Then I just put the entire thing in the frame like a picture would go. That is ALL there is to it!Deno loves it, and I like it so much that I’m intending to do one for me and My Cowboy here at the old ranch shack. I wanted it to say “Cowboys Welcome”, but My Cowboy says that might get me in trouble, especially when he’s not home! So I think I’ll just make it say “Prairie Moon Ranch”. Safer that way . . .

Published in: on March 11, 2011 at 7:36 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/its-a-sign/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Really cute sign and great tutorial. Thanks! Seems like I see a lot of cute cowboy sayings at Hobby Lobby and places like that which sell that sort of thing. I wonder if you can steal some ideas there. But I just love Prairie Moon Ranch, too. You are just very clever, all the way around.

  2. I really like the way this looks. Would you believe that both of my girls have Cricut machines? But I am working on a church banner right now, and I’ll probably just print big letters off the computer and use them for a pattern.

  3. I have never heard of Thin Lizzy and Boys are Back in Town. So I went to You tube and listened to it. Not to correct your chronology, their album Jailbreak was published in 1976. The reason I mention this is that during these years I was embroiled in diapers and sore throats and carting kids to kindergarten. I missed a whole decade of music. Seriously though, I don’t know if I missed that much. Deno loves the sign, I’m sure.


Leave a Reply

