The Macon Piecemakers Quilt Show

Last Saturday I was a vendor at a quilt show. The quilt show was put on by the ladies of the Macon Piecemakers Quilt Guild. They have 15 members. The show was of quilts made and/or owned by members only. Those 15 ladies displayed almost 175 quilts that day! Amazing!

Not to mention the amount of work they had to have put in planning and getting ready for the show, and then putting it together and hanging all the quilts.

Here’s the view from where I was sitting:

But the neat thing was, they had all these great little vignettes all over the place as well. The auditorium where they held the show had a stage, so they had displays up there:

Complete with ladies doing hand quilting demonstrations . . .

And in every corner, they had the cutest displays:

I was very impressed. The show felt cozy. There were lots of vendors. The church ladies fixed plate lunches, which were so popular that they sold out!

My best friend, Rose Marie, came down to help me with my booth, and we both got to talk to so many quilters that passed through that day. I had a blast, even though it doesn’t look like it. Here’s a picture Rose Marie took of me sitting in my booth. I look like I’m about to pass out from exhaustion! I swear I was having a good time! (I don’t photograph well . . .)

Of the 175 quilts hanging in the show, there were at least 14 that I had machine quilted for those ladies, plus I machine quilted their raffle quilt, which was won by the husband of one of my senior classmates in high school, so I know it will have a good home . . .

There was an article in the local paper about the show. I’ll be clipping that out to save. It was a good day . . .

Published in: on April 7, 2011 at 3:23 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/the-macon-piecemakers-quilt-show/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That looks like am awesome show! That’s impressive that you were able to quilt so many of them. And you are just adorable!

  2. Good Gravy Girl! You look like a teenager! What a lovely way to spend the weekend. I hope that you can manage to fit in a bit of nap after all of your hard work.

  3. Au contraire, Madam. You do not look exhausted. This picture required some photographers’ tricks. You’ve seen what photogs do when picturing babies…….throw a ball at them, make the fluffy duckie quack………until at last the baby smiles with glee. I told her not to give me her usual deer-in-the-headlights look that she gives me when I want to take her picture. She laughed. I snapped. And she does look like a teenager. But I am old enough to be her mom………I think everyone looks young now.


Leave a Reply

