Busy Guild

My home guild has been really busy lately. We’re getting ready for our annual show, which is always a lot of work, but also a lot of fun.

Two Saturdays ago, we had a Quilt Til U Wilt day, and I took along some projects and stitched all day with my quilty friends. Quilting in droves is always more fun for some reason . . .

It sure does get entertaining at times.

Kay got to making fun of me for something I did, and while she was busy doing that, she stitched her block up wrong.

Notice in the picture over Kay’s left shoulder that Linda is now making fun of Kay for stitching her block wrong? Well, guess who sewed their block wrong next?

That’ll teach ’em to make fun of me!

Meanwhile, Peggy didn’t make fun of me, and kept her nose to the grindstone, and all her blocks came out just fine . . . See how that works?

Here the group is helping Peggy decide on a final arrangement for her blocks.

There were several in our group all working on these same blocks because they had taken a workshop to learn how to make them. The pattern is called Confetti Cake, and it’s by Margot Languedoc from The Pattern Basket.

Rose Marie has hers done already, so she was working on a Stretched Star quilt:

And Cathy was working on her Roll Roll, Cotton Boll quilt, a Bonnie Hunter Mystery.

I worked on sewing pairs for some 4-patches . . .

. . . and set together some blocks for a Community Service quilt.

I also worked on my Crayon Challenge for a little while, but no big progress on that.

The very next Wednesday was our regularly scheduled guild meeting, the last meeting before our quilt show. We have 140 entries in our show, so it’s gonna be GREAT! I can hardly wait.

Meanwhile, I got a small fix by watching this month’s show & tell session at the meeting.

Sandy showed the wedding quilt she’s making for her daughter. She showed it unfinished, because by the time we meet again, her daughter will be married and have the quilt in her possession.

Meredith showed a little 3-dimensional quilt she finished.

Then she showed an embroidered quilt done by her friend and fellow guild member, Di.

Diane showed her Over the River and Through the Woods quilt. I had not previously seen one with the red added in, and I really like that touch.

Susan showed a Trip Around The World quilt:

Marsha showed her paint-chip challenge piece, with which she won first place in the Paint Chip Challenge!

Carol showed a scrap Buggy Wheels quilt she had finished. Very nice!

And if you’re anywhere in the vicinity of Kirksville, Missouri, on Friday, June 3, or Saturday, June 4, you MUST come see our show. It’s gonna be fantastic!

Published in: on May 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/busy-guild/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hehe! love the sewn block… yeah, well, we’ve all done that! đŸ˜‰ impressive quilts!

  2. Love the Confetti Blocks! I’m working (long term) on a similar one, but it came from a Patchwork and Quilting issue It’s a Granny Square quilt from Moda Lissa. I love it, but the squares are tiny. I adore the Buggy Wheels quilt! You will be crazy busy with a quilt show just around the corner! Looking forward to the fun quilts you’ll share. You will share, won’t you? Please.

  3. I love the Roll Roll Cotton Boll quilt every time I see one! Looks like you had a lot of fun! I love it!


Leave a Reply

