27th Annual

Quilt Show for the Hands of Friendship Quilt Guild of Kirksville, MO, my home guild.

Or so they said . . . I’ve lost track of how many years we’ve been doing this. I’ve been a guild member for 15 years now. The quilt show is always so much fun for me. It’s also an extreme amount of work for all of us each year. But so worth it.

Just like happens a lot of the time around the farm, I was too busy helping to wield a camera, but I did make a point to take a few pictures here and there.

We hold our quilt show in the auditorium of a large church. The building is wonderful, and gives us plenty of space to have everything all in one room.

Our theme this year was “A Tisket, A Tasket, A Beautiful Basket.”

Here’s what you would have seen as you came in the front door and started through the show:

In one corner, we had a bed-turning going on. A wonderful display of basket quilts, appropriate for our theme.

We had 8 vendors set up throughout the room. Lots of shopping opportunities!

And 136 quilts on display, to be voted on for Viewer’s Choice awards in each of 11 categories.

And the winners are:

Small Art Quilts/Wallhangings: Michele Breault, with “Small . . . and Smaller”. This pair of pieces only measured 22″ across (both pieces). If you click on the picture to enlarge it, I think you will be able to read how she made them. And they’re hand quilted, by the way. Michele is a handwork expert.

Large Art Quilts/Wallhangings: Alice Allinson, with “Sunset Over Tuscany”. Alice made this quilt from a pattern in the book, “Bella Bella Quilts”, by Norah McMeeking. In fact, it’s the cover quilt, but Alice chose not to do the appliqued center, and instead did some awesome quilting and embellishment in that space instead. (I can assure you that my pictures do not do any of these quilts justice.) To add to the story, Alice just returned from a trip to Italy, where she got to see lots of designs like this up close and personal.

Baby/Youth Themed Quilts: Katy Kitchen (my sister), with “Critters Dancin’ in the Moonlight”, a pattern by Linda Hohag of Brandywine Design. She made this quilt for her grandson, Max, and barely wrested it away from his mother to get it into the show.

Youth Quilts (made by quilters under the age of 18): Hailey Beach, with “Sunbonnet Sue”. Hailey colored the blocks with crayons, and her grandma, Kay, helped her with the setting. Way to go, Hailey!

Hand Quilted: Anna Ruby, with “Star Spin”. Anna and her sisters enter our show every year with large hand quilted quilts. I don’t know how they get so many done! This one is so big, it couldn’t even be hung full out, and I couldn’t get a full picture of it.

Machine Quilted, Computer Guided, Pieced: Susan Chidester, with “Lone Star”. I loved how bright this quilt was, and the quilting designs were wonderful.

Machine Quilted, Hand Guided, up to 82″ wide: Miranda Wilson, with “Christmas Baskets”. You may recognize this quilt because I’ve shown it to you before. Miranda is Rose Marie’s granddaughter, and this quilt is one of the 8 Christmas Quilts that Rose Marie made for her family last year.

Machine Quilted, Hand Guided, over 82″ wide: Troy & Linda Grgurich, with “Bargello”. This quilt was made by fellow guild member, Vera Lile, who gifted it to Troy and Linda, the current owners.

Machine Quilted, Mixed Technique: Kay Beach, with “Winter Wonderland”. This is a Crabapple Hill pattern. Wonderful done in blues . . .

Guild Challenge: Shelly Pagliai, with “Deno’s Flag”. Yep, that’s me! My Patriotic Challenge quilt got a blue ribbon. Deno was excited to hear it. He’s very proud of his quilt. I’ve shown it before, but in case you don’t recall, this pattern is by Gerry Kimmel Carr of Red Wagon Quilts. It’s called “September”, and it’s from the book “Home Front”. Very fun to make.

Antique: Arletta Nelson, with an unnamed quilt that was made by her husband’s great great great grandmother. Gorgeous!

There were also second and third place winners in each category, but I didn’t take pictures of all of them. I was too busy.

In a separate post, I’ll show you a few pictures of some that I liked, even though they can’t all have ribbons.

And . . . if you’re interested . . . you know me . . . I have some funny snippets and quotes for you that I overheard during the show. Later . . .

Published in: on June 5, 2011 at 4:57 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/27th-annual/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great show Shelly! Did you know I made the same quilt from the Bella Bella book? It’s fun to see how other people interpret the pattern.

  2. Congrats SHELLY! I knew that flag quilt would be a winner! wahoo!!! fantastic!

  3. Congrats, Shelly! Your’s is just amazing! Looks like a fantastic show.

  4. Well done! I have a hankering to make a flag quilt too, but I had better get some of the projects in progress finished first. Your’s is stunning!

  5. Your guild always has a wonderful show, and they’ve put together another one! I love the crayon quilt, and your patriotic quilt is great, too. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Congrats on your winning, and to your sister, too! I am not surprised. When I saw that patriotic quilt, I just thought, “Wow! That’s a show stopper.” Way to go! I hope I get to see it IRL sometime!


Leave a Reply

