LIVE2011 June Update

Less than a month, and this year will be half over. I’ve not made near the progress I’ve wanted to make, but I’m sure I’ve done more than I would have if I weren’t pushing myself according to all my lists.

Some days just feel extra hectic! OK, some weeks feel extra hectic! Who am I kidding?

Time for me to ‘fess up as to how I’m doing on my 11 things for this year:

1. Faithfully keep a daily diary

Still managing to get those entries written. Sometimes I just have no idea what to say. I try not to write anything negative, because I don’t want to look back at it later and be reminded of something bad. I want to remember the good stuff!

And though my mother, while writing in her diary, was in the throes of her first (and only) real love, I can safely say I’m much older than 15, and am ever-s0-slightly jaded at this point.

My entries are too matter-of-fact and boring. I’m going to change the way I’m writing them.

2. Finish 100 (quilting or sewing-related) projects this year

I’m up to 10 finished projects now. I really need to get serious with a photo session, so I can show them to you as proof that I really have finished some things.

3. Get my studio whipped into shape (be more organized)

I got rid of some more stuff, but not much. I’ve made a few decisions, too, but haven’t acted on them just yet. I seem to be unable to work on the house AND the studio at the same time.

4. Make major improvements to the ranch shack

I have started my next project, but I’m not done enough to report on it just yet.

5. Ride my horse more

No more real riding for fun recently. I spent quite a bit of the past month not feeling well. I’ve been spending time with the horses, just not on their backs.

6. Pay more attention to my health

Although at this point, it seems like a distant memory, I spent quite a bit of time over the last month being under the weather. I had constant headaches, which turned out to be a combination of an inner ear infection, sinus troubles, and my neck out of place. Three days after I finally gave in and went to the chiropractor and was just starting to feel normal again, I took a bad spill (not even from the back of a horse) and damaged my shoulder, so now my arm has “issues.”

But I’m drinking more water, and getting more exercise, and hope to only improve the good things I’m doing.

7. Establish some routines (personal and work-related)

I’m still working from lists. Some days I get the things on my list done, and other days, the cows have other plans for me . . . But it’s good to be able to be flexible and just be able to roll with whatever the day presents. I’ve felt like I’ve been getting more and more behind this past month, because of the headaches, but I’m slowly getting back on track. (Don’t tell the cows — I want it to stay that way!)

8. Decrease my fabric stash

I actually broke down and purchased some fabric this month. I was also gifted with a yard of fabric from a friend, but I’m still over the 30-yards used mark, and I have lots of plans for using up some more within the next month.

9. Decrease my number of UFOs

Another 2 scratched off the list. Two a month just isn’t cutting it for me. I need to have a marathon month and knock out a bunch of finished projects. Will this be the month? Only time will tell . . .

10. Get back to work on competition quilting

STILL no progress on this one yet. Still just doing the thinking part, and sadly, that’s getting me nowhere.

11. Cultivate my creativity

My sketchbooks are getting fuller, and I’m really really really having a LOT of fun just doodling. I had gotten to the point where I thought that if I just sat around drawing and doodling that I was wasting my time, but such is NOT the case at all. The things I’ve been doodling have given me so many ideas, I don’t even have time for them all. Furthermore, I’ve been doing the doodling during times when I couldn’t have been doing much else anyway: waiting at the doctor’s office, or going down the road with My Cowboy, or when I see something I don’t want to forget. The trick is to keep the book with you at all times, so you don’t let one of those moments slip away.

With the year almost half over, I think it’s time to take stock and see what I’m really not making much progress on, and start concentrating on those things. I’m doing really well with items # 1 and 11, fairly well with items # 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 (but could be doing much better), and items # 2, 3, 9, and 10 are really sucking wind. I’m thinking about taking one week on each of my worst ones (2, 3, 9, and 10) and see if I can make any real progress. I don’t want to let the entire year get away from me.

Is there any one area you’ve committed to making progress in this year that you’re stuck on? How are you handling that now that the year is almost half gone? I’d like some inspiration, if you have any to spare . . .

Published in: on June 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/live2011-june-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Grandpa Kenneth said you should spend the most time on the most productive fields. You have a lot of goals, and you are doing really well on several of them. Perhaps you should set aside some of the others for now and really pay attention to the areas where you are already making significant progress. Once those are stable and self-sustaining, then turn your attention to those “less productive fields.”

    Not trying to tell you how to live your life, but Grandpa came to mind for some reason as I read your post. And, I’m pretty sure that is what he would say.

  2. I am just so amazed at how quickly this year is passing. We moved to a new house last summer, but after my fall in August, things came to a crawl. I am hoping to get more quilting done this year, but I do have to learn to manage my time better.

  3. This was interesting to read how you’re coming along with your goals. I sure hope you’re feeling better. When you don’t feel good, it just saps your will to accomplish things. Among other things, I like to quilt, and have two small quilts going in hoops. I have a third one I seriously want to start, but I’m MAKING myself (LOL) finish at least one of the quilts and get it out of the hoop before I start this other one. So that is motivating me. The one is mostly done so it shouldn’t be too much longer. 🙂 Best wishes with all your projects!

  4. keep doodling!! it’s good for what ails ya and lots of other things I’m sure.

  5. You are doing so well! I wish I had that much “stick-to-it-iveness!” I flutter from one thing to another and end up doing nothing great.

    On the horse riding front, I actually had the shoer put shoes on both the front and the back of my mare. I am going to try to ride next week! The reason for the shoes is that we live in the Ozarks, home of sharp rocks of every variety and on every inch of the land, not the plush black soil where you have to import rocks like you do!


Leave a Reply

